Posts not trending on Steemit? A quick guide to writing, from someone that does it as his day job.

in #steemit8 years ago

You've guessed it. I'm a writer. And I write lots. Tons in fact. Today I've probably written over 10,000 words alone on the web somewhere or another. Some of my posts have made it to the big leagues and I want to give you a sure-fire guide of how to do it.

Be yourself.

You hear it in the dating world all the time, and it stems from telling cracking fibs because she's going to end up knowing you in the end, so why lie in the beginning?

Same with your readers my friend.

And your readers are nowhere near dumb - most of them can sniff out a bullshit article a mile away hidden under a ton of other stuff and camouflaged. Just be yourself and write from the heart.

How hard can it be?

If you like cars, write about cars. If you like boats, write about boats. If you enjoy the theory of particle physics then write about it. Any writer that loves what they do will tell you that you need to write something stokes the passion in your heart and keeps those embers burning from years to come.

I could write about Particle Physics. Probably, and one article after a ton of research, if I'm lucky. But if you ask me to write about humanity I can churn out thousands of articles thousands of words long. You see?

Passion is what makes us write.

And if you make nothing? Then there's always next time. If you look at every trending posts author they'll only have one or two that's made it out of a lot more.

So don't get too hooked on making the big leagues. Enjoy writing for what it is, and perhaps soon, or one day it might just pay off on here.

Rome wasn't built in a day, you know!

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66103.77
ETH 3554.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.11