Proof of Good Relationship--One Month Of Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I'm going to make this short, mostly because I've lost faith in writing long thoughtful posts on Steemit. I could be wrong. I'm just a month on Steemit, after all. These, however, are the things I have observed during that time:

Steemit.com is supposedly built on a proof-of-brain reward system. You contribute to the blockchain by posting valuable contents--emphasis on valuable--and get rewarded for your contribution. What I have observed, though, is that you DO NOT get rewarded for your contents, valuable or non-valuable, you get rewarded for how much you can make big friends and connect, in other words, how many whale-asses you can kiss.

P.S: THIS IS NOT AN INDICTMENT!

I repeat, P.S: THIS IS NOT AN INDICTMENT!
image.jpeg
gotten from

Arbitrary Upvotes: Do they even exist?

Joining Steemit, listening to my friend who introduced me talk about it, reading the whitepaper, reading people's posts, my expectation was simple: write something good, post it, if it's good enough, people will like it; these people, by liking it, will upvote it, and give you monetary reward for your content. In other words, the better you write the better your chances of earning.

Fundamentally this is true. Theoretically this is true--and admirable. Practically, however, I have found it false.

One month of Steemit and I never received any unexplainable Upvotes worth up to 5 cents. What do I mean by unexplainable? I mean an upvote given by a total stranger, who isn't just connected to your post, but feels a connection to it.

Could it be then that my posts aren't good enough? A writer is the worst judge of his own work, but, really, I have written some kick-ass stuffs on Steemit. It also gets more depressing when you see a useless comment earning $100.

The first major upvote I got on steemit was from @v4vapid, for entering into his contest. That is explainable. I get up to a dollar upvote for using some tags. That is explainable. But a totally totally unexplainable upvote, on a post, given by someone not connected in any way to it? NOPE!

Once again I could be wrong, but I don't think I am, seeing as my friends here say the same.

Once again the reminder: THIS IS NOT AN INDICTMENT

I keep saying this is not an indictment because even though Steemit.com is not proof-of-brain as advertised, it is Proof-of-good-relationship (skills) which is not so terrible given the fact that this is a social media site first and foremost. But there are drawbacks and advantages, which I would be happy to explore, but which I'm discouraged to because even though my brain wants to work on it, it knows it won't get shit for this post because my heart hasn't felt like making much relationships, (i.e kissing asses).
image.jpeg
gotten from

So here's what I'll do; I'll put my observation to the test. I believe this post is good enough to generate 8 arbitrary SBD (took that number off the top of my brain). If it does then I take it all back, and write a stunning panegyrics on proof-of-relationship and apologize for ever criticizing proof-of-brain. But if it doesn't, well, no one cares, right!?

The medium is the message.

Sort:  

There is a lot of content on the Steemit, and while you can get a huge traction with a post, a speed that all the new posts are sliding down from the front page is sometimes too great to make a post catch an eye to enough upvoters.

That’s right @aschatria. It gets challenging as steemit grows :) kinda like a good problem but yeah sucks at times. Plus there are so many great content out there and I couldn’t catch them all

Don’t feel discouraged @rasamuel. I get that feeling sometimes and organic growth can be pretty slow. 3 months in the digital world it’s like a whole 3 years forward. Those who are whales or are making big bucks have started since 2016 when steemit is relatively new. Yet it’s not too late for you to step in. Point is, I understand where you’re coming from. But don’t give up just yet... so here’s a vote for you even though I don’t know you :) and I know it’s not much but hope it makes your day a little brighter

Thanks for the vote, really. It means a lot.

I am sorry to hear your experience here on steemit isn't what you expected. I think the best thing to do is keep writing what you are passionate about, and getting involved with others imo doesn't mean kissing asses as much as it means making real connections with people who share the same interests as you, and some who may not even share any likenesses at all. I think being who you are in your true life and your online life need to be in-line, I feel if you keep writing great content you will be noticed, I really hope you do not give up on the platform as a whole, just by reading here today, I see you and I know my votes aren't worth much but you are doing better than some others i'm sure. Keep going no matter what!! I hope to read more from you in the future, and if you do choose, that steemit isn't for you, I hope wherever your path leads you that you are being true to you!

Whao thanks. This means a lot.

You are welcome!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70855.94
ETH 3844.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49