Stop voting with 1% power already

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Looking through various threads on steemd that I saw had a lot of votes but no payout, I noticed something.

A lot of people (bots?) voting at 1-3% power

Plenty of others voting 10%-20%, etc. Which is still pretty lame, especially if those users don't have a ton of steem power to begin with.


WTF people??

Look, if you are gonna vote for something, using ~1% power is just bullshit. Do you like it, or not? Shit or get off the pot.

Proposal: Minimum vote power

If you are going to upvote something, it should have to mean SOMETHING. At a certain point (300SP I believe) you get a slider. But even at 300SP a 100% vote doesn't mean a ton. Something under that is a waste.

I'd like to see there be a minimum vote value. If you are a whale, your 1% matters. If you are not, then the minimum value should be ~1cent in SBD. Because if it's not worth 1cent, is it really worth anything to you?

Do ya like it, or not?
C'mon now.


Follow @rampant

Sort:  

Yeah, I agree. I tend to vote with 100% as anything less just doesn't seem right. If I like a post I vote for it and that is that.

I fully agree with you @rampant. I think the slider should have stayed a feature for the very large vest holders only, let´s say the Top 200. I don´t see a reason for dolphins and below using sub 100% votes. Sometimes I get odd votes with 16% or 13 % from dolphins and I really wonder, which message they actually want to convey with such a vote.
Alone for comments I sometimes use sub 100% votes but even that I do quite rarely.

I was sleeping comfortably in my bed when my bot rewarded you with my 20 % vote and you went from $3.53 to $3.61
pretty lame I agree - but I have 309 other people I follow and upvote = 1236 potential Steemit-Posts per day. If I gave everyone 100% upvote, my vote-power would go to 0% quicker then it would go back up again and nobody would get anything. The alternative is to vote for less people. ... what to do, what to do?

Yes but you have a real amount of steempower! It makes sense for you (as I note). It's the people who don't have steempower and still vote at 1% it's like... whaaaaa?

Basically, Im saying that if you aren't even gonna give a penny... do you really like it? (assuming you have the SP to give a penny).

I noticed this too. I got 20 1 percent votes yesterday and they seemed worthless I only use the 10 percent when something already has a huge payout but I still like it or maybe a comment I like.

Stop complaining. @rampant
An upvote is better than nothing. 😜
Trending posts get 1-7% from me.
Does anyone UPVOTES me? Except my followers, I stand by them. 👍 Good job Followers.

I'm not sure it's actually better than nothing. It feeds the perception that getting votes other than whales doesn't matter. A dolphin vote at 1% really DOESN'T matter.

Now, for the trending page stuff the payout algorithm acts as a multiplier so lower voting power votes still have value (if you have SP). But in general, it's bad practice.

At time, 7% trending post get 3-4.00 from me.
31-75 % get only 0.01-0.30 only. For weeks now, my SP hasn't recover 100 %

@rampant
5 hours later, $3.05 , I upvotes 100 % now $3.06 , doesn't justified.
At least my theory is right. Have been testedby me. :P

Agree and here is my 1 cent ))

I got my slider as soon as I hit 1m vests. I try to keep my votes at 100% and lessen it for comments that I really like. As I did my usual routine of finding posts, upvoting and then swinging by again to comment, I noticed that my votes are starting to release pennies! It's not much, but it's something.
So yeah, shit or get off the pot...not that we aren't ecstatic about every upvote...but make 'em count, eh?

Maybe poeple are confused and think that the 5 vote daily target was implemented with the hard fork? (It wasn't)

I feel you @rampant !
A lot of users that vote that way dont have a lot of steem power.
But dont despair somethimes your article can catch the eye of a dolphin or even a whale and then you can expenct some good $.
If this never happens still it is ok, just keep posting and slowly but surely you will make money..

Catch that wale Ahab!

he is already a dolphin--so he is already doing nicely thank you very much

If they don't have a lot of steem power then technically many of them CAN'T vote that way. and if they have medium Steempower it actually hurts their curation rewards.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69672.37
ETH 3356.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74