You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 2 years on the Steem Blockchain (reflection)

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

Happy two years Sun.

Mine is coming up very soon as well. Change is good they tell me, if so then steem is heading in the right direction. It will be interesting to see what the future holds.

I read your post about Anthony bourdain. I binge watched all of his travel series a few months ago. I didn't even know he'd checked himself out of this strange carousel of life.

Does great creativity automatically include a deep and destructive self-loathing?

In not sure it's a requirement, but sometimes the best art is inspired by darkness, including creative writing. It's certainly that way with me, whether it makes my writing better is up for debate 😉 I see it almost like the subtext of my life, although I've got that darkness under control these days, memories colour everything I write. It's a double edged sword as I honestly think it improves writing, but it means you never quite escape that self destructive side. I'll leave you with a quote from someone who definitely knew how to turn his own self destructive nature into fantastic stories:

What is your advice to young writers?”

“Drink, fuck and smoke plenty of cigarettes.

Charles Bukowski

Ha ha, Bukowski never pulls his punches. P.s. I miss your poems, but I know what it can be like when the muse does a bunk 😆😉

Sort:  

After doing more research, it does seem like intelligence tends to be linked with depression- fascinating, but not ultimately helpful. I agree that darkness can be a source of inspiration (I always find people who write about happy subjects are suspect anyway ;)

I have some fragments bouncing around- hopefully it’ll be a complete poem before the school year starts. I’m trying not to pressure the muse 🤷🏻‍♀️

Posted using Partiko iOS

I basically gave up most of my songwriting because it always came from that dark place and I didn't want to go there anymore. I think it was a good compromise for me. I still get inspiration to write, but a lot of that is parody material, not that that's a bad thing. At least that doesn't require the dive into the darkness...

The “dive into the darkness” is a good way to put it. I think at the end of the day we have to balance our mental health with the need for material.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62668.27
ETH 3332.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46