Saving Heirloom Tomato Seed

in #steemit7 years ago

Do you want to save some money on garden seeds? I grow mainly heirloom and/or open pollinating seeds, especially for my tomatoes. The first time I tried this I had no idea how to do it. So I saved the seeds on a paper towel. I was unable to use the seed when they were dry due to them sticking to the paper towel.

Then I found the way to do it from several sources. When you cut open a tomato that you want seeds from, scape them into a small jar with water in it.

IMG_1289.JPG

The jar on the left I will use to save different tomato seeds. The one on the right I started a couple of days ago. You let the jars sit until they start to ferment, stirring them daily. After a couple of weeks you should be able to smell the change in the jar. Sometimes there will be mold floating on the surface. You need to use a spoon and get that out of the jar. The viable seeds will sink to the bottom of the jar. You can see this in the jar at the right.

The jar on the right contains the seeds from a new heirloom that I tried this year. I bought the plant and it was called "Old German". If anyone recognizes this tomato and know it under a different name please let me know. Here is a picture of a couple tomatoes from the plant. (my photography is not the best on this photo):

IMG_1287.JPG

In the jar at the right I will be saving seeds from a yellow pear tomato called Morning Sunshine. It is one of the sweetest and most delicious small tomatoes I have grown. They are slightly larger than most cherry tomatoes.

IMG_1288.JPG

The reason for putting the seeds in water and letting them ferment is to allow the “jelly like” sack around each seed to breakdown. The reason my first attempt failed is the “jelly like” sack stuck to the paper towel, making it almost impossible to get the seeds off the paper towel.

IMG_1290.JPG

Once the seeds are dry, and I do not rush this part, I then put them in small jars I have collected over the years. Colored jars, or jars you cannot see through would be best, although I have some seeds in clear jars.

I would like to to thank all my followers for viewing my posts. I have heard from a few of you about why so long between posts... I have been very busy working 3 jobs, although by the end of August I will have closed down 90% of my business and have more time, thus more posts. Thank you for your patience.

FOLLOW UPVOTE RESTEEM @r2cornell

Sort:  

Awesome Post! Thanks for sharing this great information :D

Thank you. Glad you enjoyed.

Thanks for your most important article explaining how to save garden seeds.

Good information for #gardening...Thanks @r2cornell

Thank you. Pretty scene

You are welcome Boss!! Have a great wish for your Garden @r2cornell

I just love it sir..

U5du74zEF8r7Zv8Qww2SKqQZxDZS5vK_1680x8400.jfif

If you mind checking out my blog for latest posts and updats, Thank you.

Thank You and will do

Informative tip. I'll resteem this and share on our other social media for our gardening followers. Thank you for sharing!

Thank you! I appreciate at it @preppers.

You're welcome. We'll get this info out there. @AmericanPreppers will share on Facebook, and @Tomtrademore will summon some upvote bots to help with this post.

Thank you very much. I never considered myself a prepper, but have followed this movement. I happened to be raised by parents who grew up during the depression and WWII...Survival meant taking care of your own and growing and preserving your own food. When I was young I observed,and learned... as an adult I found how they survived appealing and continued. Seed saving being only 1 of the many skills needed. Thanks again

Well, anyone who prepares is by definition a "prepper". Homesteaders prepare for the long term and are among some of the most advanced preppers.

Amen to that. I do not like being dependent upon anyone or entity. I was taught to take care myself and how to live off the land. I passed that on to my daughter and still working on my granddaughter. Thanks for your response!

Resteemed and shared to our facebook followers. Thanks for teaching!

Hope to have more as time allows, especially after I get into the Fall. Canning and preserving has just begun!

Upvoted and @Randowhale and other upvoting bots on the way

Awesome Post , Great info , thanks so much for sharing
Followed

wecome , thank you for the support :)

Great Post. Great information.

Thank you!

Are tomatos a fruit or a vegetable? Biologically, they're a fruit. But I'm fine classing them as a veg.

@mathiasian, the thing trolling me that @scilwa delgates SP to?

Is it a nice jew-hating neo-nazi scumbag?

Or a nasty jew-hating neo-nazi scumbag?

This might help you decide: https://steemit.com/politics/@mathiasian/brendan-fraser-was-blacklisted-after-being-sexually-assaulted-by-homosexual-movie-producer-philip-berk

Oh, yeah. "Great post!"

Nice Information....
Great! keep it up sir...

Amazing post! Thank you for that 👍
Pls check out my latest post.

Thank you. Will check it out

Very interesting tip really useful. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64752.70
ETH 3455.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50