Steemit: On the Road to 1million users by 2018?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

SteemitRoadFoward.jpg
(shot and photoshopped on my iPhone, Valley of Fire, Nv)


In Facebooks first year it gathered 1 Million users. It now has 1.94 billion monthly active users

As of today, Steemit has gained 209,220 users accounts in its first year.(steemd.com)

If Steemit can replicate Facebook's rate of growth when it went 1 million users in 2005 to 5.5 million by the end of its 2nd year in 2006, We will be at 1 million users in 2018
How did FB do this? mostly by word of mouth and catering to a niche market; college students.

This 5.5x growth for Steemit would mean hitting the 1 Million and it would mean even more exposure for blockchain on a massive scale.
To do this, Steemit would probably have to capitalize not just on word of mouth but also on the failings of social media giants like FB Instagram and Reddit. I think there is a path forward through marketing and word of mouth.


Facebook has real problems. It's a source of rampant piracy, misleading news, and by design hard or impossible to monetize for content creators. Steemit offers solutions to all of these problems.
I don’t think that Facebook will fail anytime soon, however, many younger users are abandoning it for snapchat and Instagram in droves. Lets get those converts to make new tags and new communities in Steemit just like Reddit did when it transformed from a programming and NSFW community and into a massive diverisfied platform!


In this post: https://steemit.com/steem-marketing/@paulcoman/let-s-raise-money-for-steemit-marketing by @paulcoman he explored the idea of marketing Steemit to the masses and I suggest that we create a Steem donation project to fund ads on Facebook and Instagram. This could Siphon off users by showing them that their content actually has value, thus bringing them to steem. Theres is no better time than now especially since the most recent hardfork has made new gaining steempower easier than ever.

Lets look a piece of what's up for grabs on facebook alone!
()Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 5.10.13 PM.pngScreen Shot 2017-06-20 at 5.10.23 PM.png

Imagine the payouts had these posts been on Steemit. Not to mention the amount of money companies, and content creators have thrown into maintaining and promoting their pages!




Why Facebook is Failing its Daily Users: 3 Examples from My Perspective

Algorithms Ads and Bullshit

Now I've been an early adopter of most social networks, and after two weeks of moderate (ok, maybe obsessive) use of Steemit most of my friends probably want me to shut the fuck up about. But I can't. Steemit has become the primary social network I check. I tried going back to Facebook today and after a few scrolls, I exited out. I had forgotten how algorithms ruined these platforms and filtered out allot of content I actually wanted to see and replaced it with reposted trash. My page recently feels like its curated by an evil authoritarian bent on stealing my time and numbing my mind. Nowadays, I actually have to go to the search and click on a friends page to come across content I actually want to see.
Not to mention the how disruptive and indistinguishable the ads were becoming.
Seriously times I think my friends repost ads thinking it's just normal content.


939eeb8f90c3ac8dd096f3280810b845.jpg


Here are the first three posts when I opened my Facebook this morning.

Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 4.33.56 PM copy.jpg

SJW Political Bs, from people who are really mere acquaintances from college, not in any photos with this person and barely have any posts linked to her, Thanks FB!


Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 4.34.29 PM copy.jpg

Don't waste my time


Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 4.34.13 PM.png

O great look! A targeted ad based on a website my girlfriend visited recently, Fun Fact: If you stay signed into Facebook they track all of your browser histories!


Ok, maybe this is my fault and I need to go through and delete/mute a bunch of people from my friends list that are just not important to me, however, that's a pretty random, daunting, and unrewarding task to do with a list of 700 people.
I still think Facebook can be used as a useful tool however mine seems to be full of inescapable ads and trash click-bait, thats why I prefer the democracy of Steemit,

Its like Macho Man Randy Savage once said, "The cream rises to the top!"


Steemit provides solutions to all these problems by having the cream rise to the top, and we should spread the word to the world.

Check out this post by @eoincurran outlining why popular Instagram users might want to dump the platform and Use Steemit. https://steemit.com/instagram/@eoincurran/how-24hrs-on-steemit-has-been-more-profitable-than-1-year-on-instagram-with-13k-followers

Thanks for reading, this is my first real piece writing on here, check out my past posts @quattrophoto and follow for more writing, photos, and videos! Steem on friends!

Facebook statistics from
http://expandedramblings.com/index.php/by-the-numbers-17-amazing-facebook-stats/

Do you think Steemit will go to a million this year, why or why not?

Sort:  

I think it will easily hit 1 million members soon, comparing to any where, 200k members is really nothing, a facebook fan page can easily do the same as well and with the recent hf19, this will attract a new pool of members and in no time we will be at 1m.

Loading...

Great post i was thinking the same only yesterday ,I am a new member to steem,i have only been on here a few days,but in my opinion this platform is will signal the end of FB in the future,its only a matter of time,why use FB when you can use steem, and invest in your future at the same time. a follower would be nice thanks and look forward to seeing my posts from you @litcoinkid

I got you with a follow man, thanks for the support,
In many ways Steemit is like, Twitter because of the feed, Instagram because of the amount of photogaphers flocking to it, Reddit because of the upvoting , trending page. and Facebook because of the viral content curators! So I dont know if I can signal an end to the facebook era because its so closely attached to identity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56