You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: || Stumbling into Steemit: The VERY "oh happy fault" of being so sick ||

in #steemit7 years ago

Super nice writing and story! Although I understand technology pretty well, and looked at Bitcoin already back in early 2013 when it was worth almost nothing, I only got into crypto through Steemit. Started here early this year and since then exploring cryptospace from all sides, including blogging (here), trading and more.

Sort:  

Thank you! Ah - that must be disappointing? I honestly had no idea - I remember a friend talking about it, not grasping, and even then feeling like I'd already missed the boat on whatever it was. Steemit, however, is the perfect "in" because it lets you hit the ground running on it through other interests. I've been trying to understand the trading aspect as well - so far losing! But it's actually really enjoyable, too.

Ah - that must be disappointing?

Hahahaha, ah well, that's life, I always try to see it the positive way, I was probably not ready back then, and now I am. And thus far, it provided me with 1) a lot of knowledge 2) made me an active blogger 3) made me some new friends 4) made me some hard currency.

You know, I feel the same. I missed out on a significant chunk of money on that bad trade a couple of weeks ago - enough that would have actually changed my life just now, and of course it hurt, but I feel like it's only an opportunity to learn and get better at the game. I think we just need to HODL hahah. And yes: I love it here and I forgot while I was away. But it's seriously the coolest people on the planet, and the right environment for people to feel at home in a big way. Pretty awesome.

Sure is an amazing community. Wrt the trade, well, take your next SBD and set a sell order on a future spike and you'll be happy. With trading I look at BTC values, they must be good since I expect BTC to rise, with ups and downs, but as long as I do not cash out to fiat, BTC is my home. Therefore I determine times to sell SBD or Steem at BTC value spikes. They are happening all the time lately.

How do you do that?! I didn't even know that existed lol. That would be amazing.. although I think I will keep most of it inside Steem as an investment. But a little here and there traded at the right time would also REALLY help me.. so.. I'm super appreciative of any advice/tips you have on this!

You can set a sell order at some higher price, in the internal market of Steemit, or on an Exchange like Bittrex, Poloniex, Openledger/Bitshares (Steemit account belonging to the later) @blocktades. In our internal market you sell SBD for Steem directly; The base currency at external exchange is Bitcoin/Ethereum depending on exchange; Sell for eg Bitcoin and in case you like to get Steem for it, after selling, buy Steem with it and transfer back to your Steem wallet in your account here and Power Up if you will to get more stake and vote power. To help you with transferring funds, there are step-by-step tutorials out on Steemit. Search for bitshares/steem/transfer combo, or the same for Bittrex or Poloniex. Searching on Steemit you can do with the inbuild Google Search in Steemit User Interface, or us AskSteem.com (I prefer the later). The most simple way to sell SBD for Steem is to use our internal market, and if you like to benefit from a spike in the SBD/Steem combo, just set a higher sell price at a level you think it can reach. Today the ratio between SBD and Steem is about 5, ie 5 Steem for 1 SBD. But I've seen ratio's of up to 8. However, SBD seems to be more stable last week and gradually declining in value (although a little). For good overview of SBD and Steem values, use CoinMarketCap: https://coinmarketcap.com/currencies/steem-dollars/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62311.03
ETH 2443.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69