Is it Worth it to Greet and Teach New Steemians?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Over the past 6 weeks I have been visiting the INTRODUCEYOURSELF page, New Posts. I try to give a nice upvote to the newbies there, and provide them with some tips to steer them away from the more annoying or harmful errors they tend to make.

The question is, IS IT WORTH IT?

It really is a large job. In the INTRODUCEYOURSELF list 50% of the posts aren't by new steemians. A few innocent/ maybe appropriate posts with some related-ish topic. MANY many posts by scammers of some sort trying to get the EXTRA boost upvotes that introduceyourself posts tend to get.

.....AND THEN THERE ARE THE NEWBS. You can tell that some graduated from High School English, did their research and wanted to get started on the right foot. Their posts aren't wonderful yet, but you can tell they have tried.

BUT WOAH IS ME! The newbs that don't try or make every mistake in the book, IS A HUGE NUMBER!

ANSWER: Yes, it is worth it. And it is necessary, for these three reasons:

  • They are our future. Those that make it one month will grow in SP and influence. IF we teach them early, we have a brighter future with them.
  • If no one takes the time to teach them, then they get frustrated and leave. BUT THEY DON'T just leave. They take that bad taste in their mouth with them and proceed to BAD MOUTH Steemit to all their friends and across other Social Media platforms.
  • Some are straight up scammers and their scammy activity needs to be noticed early on. And if they refuse to change, they need to be nuked to oblivion(a couple of flags will do). Otherwise they WILL TELL ALL THEIR FRIENDS how they can scam easy money from Steemit. And next thing you know, there is a whole army of them.

We do have to pay attention, and do our part, and try to foster the Newbs so that Steemit has a bright and healthy future.

What are you thoughts?

I decided to make a part two to this post .... HERE it is

shadows.jpg

Thank you so much! I appreciate any and all feedback you can give.

Happy New Year!

Sort:  

Yes, of course. Steemit is hard. we need help to start!

Seems like it should be worth it. And no harm for trying. Good to "pay it forward" and all that

I'm overwhelmed by the people here, more than the network itself. Due noted that it's a rough start, but by only being here a week and to have the opportunity to seize all of this it's more than nice. If you're into making money, ok. If you're into building a better network and making the best foundations so it can last as a strong platform... they, you got us covered too. I think we're truly showing that improvement from corporations era. We do appreciate having the best content, we do support something well done and with the correct marketing approach, I'm sure many goals have succeded way beyond thought.
I'm really glad that I could feel welcome in steemit. I have the longest way to go and conquer. But I also want to show support back, and to show that I also want to set my best ambitions to this awesome community. I thank you for your insight and info. Kudos to you for showing us newbies that the work done here is valuable and that you really think ahead of time. Cheers!

You are very welcome! Glad to hear and hope your time here continues to be so productive and enjoyable!
Thx

When I joined less than six months ago, there were VERY few veteran steemians making these types of posts. I had to find all my answers in the FAQs section; which many of the posts were 9-12 months old. They were for the most part relevant and helpful, but I do see more and more reputation 45-65 posting tips and suggestions for incoming steemians.

I tell you it felt like a desert at the start.

I would like to assemble a single resource.... be it a compilation post... or a catalogue of others' posts that I can add a link to in introductions to newbies.

I mean there is a lot there on the Steemit Welcome page.... but some of it is outdated.

I want to find the best of the best of the best.... and have it there for New Steemians to use.

That would be so appreciated.
But how would it be collected? Ask people and members for what they found most useful? Then put together into one post and somehow get it listed in FAQs section?

What are the annoying/harmful errors? I'm new

Very true. I will try to help someone as I get time.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Ooohhh... A caped crusader in our midst... :)
I do agree with you tho... I do like sharing some tips with the newbies we come across - kinda to lead them on the straight and narrow, and to avoid the pitfalls they might stray into! Steem on, caped crusader...

XD

Du du du du du duhhhh --- BATMAN!

As an authentic new Steemian, not even weeks old, I have appreciated the guidance and input from many of the more savvy users here. This platform is quickly becoming my tops for social media interaction, because I've had some incredibly meaningful dialogue. But there is also so much to learn, the upvoting system, curating, resteeming. But, I'm enjoying it. But, I have also seen an incredible amount of spam posts and the wave of internet "celebrities" who bring over their hundred-thousand "followers" and strong-arm their way to the top. They post then run, rarely, if ever, engaging in their own posts. Either way, thanks for this.

And that is one of the reasons I started the collab for those coming in from yt... The hit and run does not work with this platform, engaging in community building does!

Completely agree. Although right now I'm more in scout-mode for quality content creators with large audiences to bring from other platforms...quality content means intelligent audiences. Anyway, thank you for your thoughts and diligent work. You've got another follower.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63114.90
ETH 2626.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72