Can Steemit Become A Platform for Musicians?

in #steemit7 years ago

steemitmusician.png

Todays musicians are bottlenecked into either pursuing a career in rap music or electronic dance music to even get the possibility to make a livable income and not having to live paycheck to paycheck from a dead end dishwasher job for the rest of their lives. 'Pop'ular music has always been under the firm chokehold grip of the corporate big wigs who controlled the publics music exposure and even music taste to an extent.

This more prevalent these days that most, since the 90's we've been having a decline in truly original and groundbreaking sounds, in likes of Soundgarden, Alice in Chains, early day Metallica, Black Sabbath, The Doors, and oh many more iconic bands. Yet since the 2000's bands of such calibre have been going into reclusion into the shadows of the pop music machine.

Websites like bandcamp that are made to 'support' such musicians still take a cut of the profits, yet with Steemit its a whole different story, musicians that are original, skilled and well perceived by the audience can make more than enough money posting a few songs a month to live comfortably off of the earnings.

bandsteem.png

In my last post I talked about how can we make steemit better? https://steemit.com/steemit/@pryce/how-can-we-make-steemit-com-easier-to-use I briefly touched base upon the idea of making it easier for certain accounts to be pushed to the top of the search results based on how popular and upvoted they are on a particular hashtag. In the future if the Steemit team implemented an easier donation button these bands could have 'patreon' type pages where avid listeners and followers of said band can donate easier by setting a donation amount and clicking the donate button.

Imagine many new bands will arise playing real music from the soul, imagine how many new genres and sub-genre categories will be created because of this in the near future, full creative freedom whilst whilst reaping in 100% of the profits. Smell like a recipe for success.

Sincerely,
@Pryce

19074862_10213164393687496_1151283977_o.png

Sort:  

I just upvoted you. I dont know much about music but i am very excited about people who start chasing their dream using different methods. I mean if music can work on here, there must be some other things as well. I wish you a very good luck.

thank you @wilkinshui, I do believe Steemit is possibly the last resort for these "less popular" musicians in the times of the internet. I really hope this sparks up a new wave of rock n roll revival. Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment :)

Yes, I believe it can and will.

you and me both, @aitech, I'll count down the days with you :P its inevitable.

It would be awesome if it became a good platform for musicians. I currently use it for my art, but I also make music. Upvoted and followed

Thank you @tmill, I just checked out your art posts and I have so say I like them a lot! In the future it would be nice if Steemit grew to have these large communities all on one site.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59989.12
ETH 2380.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49