Steemit SEO Secrets

in #steemit6 years ago


Steemit.com is the main site for bloggers who use the Steem blockchain.

It has a global Alexa ranking of 1890, and over 50 thousand daily active users.

steemit.com alexa rank

You can crosspost on Steemit.com using a plugin like SteemPress and use it to build quality, relevant backlinks to your website...if you do it right. Doing it right depends on proper understanding of how follow and no-follow tags work in Steemit.

I'm going to describe why this is important, but if you already know what follow and no-follow mean, you can skip the next section.

What are No Follow Tags?


Websites get ranked in Google searches by a number of factors. One of the big ones is backlinks: are highly respected websites linking to your page or post? The more quality backlinks you have, the more likely your content is to appear near the top of a Google search.

But not every link from a well known site is the same. Posting a link on Facebook, for instance, isn't going to give you all that juice that Facebook has being one of the top websites in the world. Instead, Facebook will give your links a No Follow tag, which means you can't just post a bunch of stuff on Facebook and have Google pump your search results.

The same goes for Steemit. Posting a link on Steemit will automatically give it a No Follow tag.

But there are at least two ways to remove the No Follow tag.

The Two Ways to Get a Follow Link

  1. Get your article upvoted a lot
  2. Link to articles in the comments

First: The Upvote Method

You can get a follow link if your article is upvoted enough. I've found that an article with over $10 worth of upvotes gets the No Follow links removed:

In fact, I intentionally used a bidbot to get this link above the $10 threshold, because I was launching my new YouTube channel Ask Steemmaker and I wanted to get some backlink love from Steemit. It cost me 5 Steem ($4.00), as I already had about $6 worth of upvotes.

This is the single best use of bid bots on Steem, period.

Update! If your upvoted amount goes below $10, the no follow links will return! Ensure you upvote with enough wiggle room in case of price slippage (price is locked at 7 days).

Second: Linking in the Comments Section


When you add a link in the comments section, it doesn't get the No Follow tag. This means you can use the comments section to add quality backlinks to your website!

Of course, this doesn't give you license to go and spam everyone's comments section with your (possibly off topic) web links. It does mean that you have another tool in your SEO toolkit to increase traffic to your site.

I've been experimenting with it and will update this page as I learn more.

This post was originally written on my site, Steemmaker.

Learn More about Steem


I'm building Steemmaker to be a free resource for Steemians who want to up their game. Start learning more by reading my top 5 proven Steem hacks:

Sort:  

Wow! I did not know there was such a threshold. That makes it very interesting to be sure. I just found and confirmed the 10$ threshold in the condenser code. And yes it will be based off of prices, but actually you don't have to worry that much because the values update only when new votes come. Meaning, if the last vote bumped the value past 10, you don't have to worry if the price drops until the next update. Still, probably better have a buffer. And you got the 3.5 day median delay.

Posted using Partiko Android

Dang! Thanks for the back end code lookup!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for this helpful SEO tips, I have a dog blogs that i am trying to tank higher for some search terms . I have done some social network back links and Pinterest marketing . But I believe that if I implement this your methods also it will truly help my site to rank higher on serp

There's a great Chrome plugin that you can use to highlight the no follow links, which makes it easier to know right off the bat what works and what doesn't.

How did you like Pinterest? I've never used it.

Posted using Partiko Android

I've never heard of no follow tags before this post. Great info you shared with us in this article. 👍

I'm here with the knowledge. ;-)

That's bizarre that comments don't get nofollows but the main body does. Seems like a mistake that will eventually get fixed

Yeah, it was likely overlooked. But until then, I'm going to take advantage of it, and send everyone to your Week in Ethereum page...

Which isn't https? Did your SSL cert expire?

since it's on Tumblr, they don't do https :(

How difficult would it be to move to some other blogsystem? Wordpress/Steempress? ;)

there are some reasons not to. losing PageRank juice, transition costs, and Tumblr is free.

of course there are some reasons to do it. so i should do it soon

Ohh I didn't know that comments has nofollow. Learnt something new today.

Glad to hear it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Ok, this is great news :-) Indeed, placing links is one thing to start with (getting your site known in the Steemian Community), but getting them to be "follow" links is something else!
Too bad I still have quite a road ahead before I get to the 10$ upvotes... But persistence is king ;-) (Oh no, it's content, right...)
Thanks for sharing!
Following you now, and visiting your site now!
(just for spamming purposes, mine is at http://beheydt.be/en/ ;-) )

Ha, well played. :-)

Maybe I'll do a weekly megathread inviting Steemians to share their off site links for the backlink juice. :-)

Obtw, you can always use a voting bot to get that post above $10. That's probably the best reason to use one, I think.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hmmm... I must say I haven’t really looked into the usage of bots yet...

They have their place.

Also, some Steemians exceedingly passionate about them: for and against.

@protegeaa, For sure you've explained the Follow Tag and No Follow Tag and literally speaking this is new subject for me.

And for sure, will going to use this technique in coming days because in my opinion we should experiment sometimes.

And in my opinion, this post is really appreciable because you've pushed this post towards deeper levels for sure.

And hope that this post can give effective clues to Steemians regarding how to get the effective results, and everything we learn from experience.

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed. 🙂

I don't know much about this, but I have started reading especially about steemmaker.com

I might start this by doing translation.

I would be very happy if I could communicate with you directly.

Hi @protegeaa!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.349 which ranks you at #2242 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 17 places in the last three days (old rank 2259).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 516 contributions, your post is ranked at #240.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 97.56% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @protegeaa!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

Of course I did! I needed that backlink juice and this gets me clear over the $10 mark.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79