Steemit Enhancement SuggestionssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

S3.png

I have a few suggestions that could really enhance Steemit, and possibly make the STEEM economy prosper.

1) Follow Button

I am getting tired of pasting follow me signatures in the bottom of the article, so a follow button should be added next to the PROMOTE button. Here is an idea how, a nice green button, that is easily visible (perhaps it could be other color).

FOLLOW BUTTON.png

Maybe the colors should be switched, the PROMOTE should be green, and the FOLLOW should be blue, as usually blue suggests trust, while green suggests money, so something like that.

F1.png




2) Fixing the Inflation

The inflation is making the STEEM price go down, which is making STEEM a less popular cryptocurrency, and it's marketcap going down. It can be easily fixed with just changing the reward ratio, explained here:




3) Adding Ads

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

A simple 728x90 ad can be added between the comment section and an article. Users could advertise here with SBD. This would have the following benefits:

  • Add value to SBD
  • Add an income source to Steemit (a few percent commissions would go to Steemit)
  • It would attract internet marketeers, this adding value to the whole STEEM economy

The system is explained here:


Upvote, ReSteem & bluebutton



button2x
Sort:  

If I see even one little tiny ad, I'm out.

Site having similar amount of traffic like steemit.com could earn about 200-300$ from ads daily. I guess that wouldn't be enough to make everybody happy.

What if the ads would only be shown to users who are not logged in?

If I want to see ads, I can go to any other social media. There's a promoted section for promoting content, and it actually works. Maybe not all steemians check what's going on the promoted tab but from my experience I have gained some upvotes and followers just for promoting 0.001$.
I would get rid of the sharing buttons. They are useless.

I agree with the follow button.

Having ads would fly in the face of the possibilities of decentralization. All of a sudden the shareholders in the content would be the advertising companies, not the content creators.

There are other websites for that kind of relationship with content.

Well you still need to generate some economic activity here, in order to give value to SBD or STEEM.

So which one will be? Blogging for free or Growing economy for STEEM?

Because you cant have it both. If you go for blogging then the price of STEEM will hit 0, and it will be like free blogging. And if you want a growing economy, with a growing STEEM price, then you need to have some compromises.

Less Marx, More Mises :)

Number one would definitely be something I want! It seems like a pretty quick and easy thing to implement, so I don't see any reason why. The inflation part I'm not really educated enough to make a statement about, and the ads I'm kind of on the fence about at the moment. But thanks for sharing your suggestions! Hopefully they will get some publicity, and spark some debate ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87