Growth Proposal: Doubling The User-Base And Investors For Steemit Through S.E.O Efforts - Followed by my Growth-Idea

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

After seeing overwhelming support from the Steemit community for my Growth-Idea post, I am glad to present my Growth-Proposal to you.

As I discussed in that post, according to SemRush (a competitive intelligence suite for online marketing, SEO, PPC, social media, video advertising research, etc.), Steemit was ranked for 354,000 keywords. But as of writing this post, we have a new picture from SemRush which I took just a minute ago.


SemRush Update:



According to SemRush as of 23rd May 2017, Steemit is ranked for 358,000 keywords (yes, that's an increase of 4,000+ keywords) but surprisingly, there is a "drop" of traffic which indicates poor quality of keywords and lack of optimization. In my last post, I gave a screenshot of that time which indicated that number of monthly visitors were 63,000 from Google with 354,000 keywords ranked but now we are seeing an increase in keywords but a drop in traffic (i.e visitors).

https://s2.postimg.org/hxlz450vt/23_May_2017.png
Source: SemRush

Steemit is hardly ranked for "5,000 keywords" in top 10 of Google SERPs (Search Engine Results Pages are web pages served to users when they search for something online). And more than 70% of those keywords are of very low quality. There are only 1,500 to 2,000 keywords through which Steemit is successfully getting 59,900 visitors a month from Google.

enter image description here
Source: SemRush

What’s Going On Here?



Put simply: Steemit is still struggling to be loved by Google. What's the reason for this? Lack of properly optimized S.E.O content.

Some people confuse S.E.O with "content only". Rest assured that “content only” S.E.O will not take you anywhere. You consider the demand of people, for example, by looking at Google trends and responding accordingly.


S.E.O Basics:



S.E.O has three basic yet extremely-important components without which no one can be successful in ranking the content:

1- Keyword Research - Finding Well-Searched Keywords Relevant To Our Topic
2- Keyword Competition And Analysis - Perfect Strategy To Beat Our Competitors And Outrank Them
3- Back-links And Social Shares - Relevant Back-links To Boost Up Rankings

You will see people targeting "highly competitive" keywords which are unlikely to rank on Google (which I refer to as “most difficult keywords” due to high competition) OR they target those keywords for which there is little to no demand, which is a serious mistake. "Keyword Research and Competition Analysis", are two very important and if you're not doing well in these two sectors, then how you can expect good results from your work?

In the past few months, I was mainly busy researching keywords that are widely searched, analyzing the competitors, studying what kind of back-links and strategy each of the keyword requires and practicing all of those factors for Steemit. It took a lot of hard work. I've studied the competitors and prepared my strategies for my personal ranking project. Now, I have a lot of data for taking calculated action. I know just what keywords to rank.


So, what's the plan?


I will be posting S.E.O optimized content (with my blast keywords included organically). Search Engines demand high-quality which is perfect because I refuse to compromise on the quality of my posts. This S.E.O optimized content takes 3-4 hours per article because I'll have to consider the best places to optimize keywords to make it look "Natural" (Spamming won't take you anywhere :) ).

In good faith to Steemit, I am planning to dedicate those "Blast Keywords" to optimize with Steemit and rank Steemit for those keywords. I have multiple keywords planned and in total, I am planning to dedicate 250,000 to 500,000 Monthly Searches Keywords (that's the estimated total of those multiple keywords). That's almost 70 to 80% more of what is currently optimized. And It will not need thousands of keywords. I believe in "Quality Over Quantity"

For that purpose, I'll have to post on various topics which would require additional time from me to research about them first, and to maintain the quality.

I also plan to share some keywords with you so that we could work in shape of team, and since one person's ability and time is limited and sharing some keywords with you means that we will be speeding up the process of ranking. (I might prepare a detailed-post about this plan)


What do I need from you?


Support! In order to rank faster on Google, my research indicates that we'll need to keep the content hot with interactions like up-votes, comments and we'll also need social shares.

The Importance of Social Signals:



Social signals are correlated with the visibility of content. And visibility is correlated with your vote-love. So all of these things are correlated specially with your "vote-love". Social signals play an important role in ranking with Google because it indicates to Google that they are missing something very important for which there is high demand.

Some people underestimate "Social Signals" while others overestimate it. The solution lies in the middle! We don't need to fully ignore "Social Shares" nor we want to focus only on "Social Shares". We just want to make it "one of other used strategies" to make sure that we actually rank for our content, and stay there for the long term.

If this content is visible enough on front page of Steemit for a long enough time, it will increase the chance of getting an organic back-link from a reputable site which will work like "booster" for Steemit.

That's what I will need from you. Please make this post a huge success and let other people see our plan so that we can improve Steemit together. No one can beat the power of "Unity". Lets unite and work for the good of Steemit and for the good of our own future. I'll start working on S.E.O content for next week. Till that time, keep the momentum in our favor.

Follow me for updates at @princewahaj

Special thanks to @andrarchy for helping me edit this piece.

Sort:  

Excellent post with brilliant content!

In terms of keyword tags, I often thought it might be more streamlined if we were to use the ones proposed by the DEWEY System while adding up extras from the multiple official libraries in the world today. From there, expansion can easily hit in the newness and creative aspects.

I have ben sharing posts from multiple authors over Facebook and out of my personal emails as well. I sure hope more and more people do the same in propagating the knowledge and different kind of information/stories present on our platform.

All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

Great post @princewahaj!

You said it perfectly, unity. Resteemed :)

Hey @the-alien !

Its great to see reputable members' support. That's the true meaning of "Unity". Thanks for your vote and resteem bro.

Great post @princewahaj ... Thank you very much !!
I'm new here on steemit and very interested in Cryptocurrency and want to learn more about every day reading online !
Have a nice day with best regards from Germany 😎✌Lars
I resteemed hope it helps

First of all, I'd love to warmly welcome you to Steemit!

And thanks for resteem and your vote.

You are welcome and Thank you !

rs and upvote for you....

There is deffinitly some value to your point made in this post. Thanks for sharing.

We are still a little confused on what exactly you are proposing. You mentioned that you will optimize your posts with "blast keywords", but what are those keywords? How are you planning on integrating them into posts on a variety of topics? You talked about encouraging other users to assist you with these SEO optimized posts, but how can others effectively help with integrating these "blast keywords"? In your previous post you discussed all of these concepts, but it seems like you have just restated what you did in your previous post.

Don't get us wrong, we are all for increasing brand visibility and we would love to help. Simply upvoting your posts and commenting will undoubtedly support your efforts, but SEO from one person alone will not drive the entire effort. How can we engage a coordinated effort platform wide? Also how can this increase actual engagement vs. just bringing more eyeballs to the brand?

Hi @raftingmagazine

Just like @steemist said, you clearly missed that part of post. And you asked "what are those keywords?" Simply stating here those keywords mean that we're going to kick our own back and throw ourselves to failure "and I guess this indication is enough as you look smart".

I don't think I proposed enough in my previous post. This post contains a new update about steemit's current situation + recruiting people's support. I am glad that you are supporting us. Please follow me to receive updates regarding future post. I want to test something before I bring "Group Plan" in front of people.

Actually, I want to experiment this ranking procedure because there are different cases for each site. So, I'll first test my strategy with optimized posts (and possibly I will be doing off-page S.E.O behind the scene). I was busy all day today in researching and analyzing best keywords for Steemit (and for my upcoming post). I am glad that we are getting support from people including you.

Thank you very much for your comment.

@princewahaj Thanks for the clarification. We have been following you since your last post on this and we are intrigued with your proposals. Based on the last post we had interpreted this one as being the results of your research and SEO testing. I think our team was just looking forward to the roll out of your plan and implementing some of those strategies as editorial changes in our posts.

We aren't completely clear on what you mean when you say:
Simply stating here those keywords mean that we're going to kick our own back and throw ourselves to failure "and I guess this indication is enough as you look smart". Could you please clarify what you mean by that?

From an advertiser's perspective our manager in charge of SEO is all about this. More eyes on brand is certainly a great thing! While our whole team does not agree that pure keyword based SEO is the best use of resources, it certainly can give a much needed boost from a brand awareness stand point. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to help in your efforts.

Seems like you missed what he mentioned in his post.

"I also plan to share some keywords with you so that we could work in shape of team, and since one person's ability and time is limited and sharing some keywords with you means that we will be speeding up the process of ranking. (I might prepare a detailed-post about this plan)"

we all owe you a debt of gratitude = will help us all on steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63138.55
ETH 2579.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80