Why would someone create a monument for a person who gave orderes to kill other people?

in #steemit8 years ago

Today as I promised I'll tell you about a monument that you can see at the background of this photo of me and my brother.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@pollina/dreams-come-true-with-steem-part-2

This man's name is Vladimir Ulianov who is better known by the name of LENIN. He was the one in charge of Russian Revolution of 1917. . During this time Russian tsar Nicholas II was killed .

His daughters ANASTASIA, TATIANA, MARIA, OLGA, his son ALEXEY and his wife ALEXANDRA FEODOROVNA and Nicholas II himself were taken to a place in the Ural mountains near the city of Yekaterinburg and violently SHOT AWAY.

Now Russia was under control of Bolsheviks and it sayed like this for 70 years. I don't know much about this period of history as I was born in times of democracy and freedom in Russia. They say that in Soviet times if you said something about the Government and it was unpleasant, you would go to jail immediately (the sentence could last for 15-25 years) or you could even be shot away.

1990 brought democracy to Russia.

My parents remember these years well and they say that those times were both good and bad.

Something that really makes me wonder is that a monument for a person who killed others is in the center of the city! I think it should be demolished.

LENIN died in 1924.

And there is a cathedral on the place where the tsar and his family were killed.

Well, I've told you everything I know. And I can tell more about Russia if you are interested in it!

Sort:  

I think you are confusing Lenin with Stalin. Furthermore you definitely cannot claim that Putin's regime is the most democratic. I think Russia has never experienced a real (or at least western-type) democracy. Hopefully after Putin, a change towards freedom and liberty will happen in Russia.

I also think when I grow up there will be more freedom

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65407.18
ETH 3576.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48