Do we know who FIRST delegated Steem Power to us

in #steemit7 years ago

When I created my Steemit account some 7 months ago, I will blessed with around 27 Steem Power to allow me to use the network. This has all gone now. Who undelegate what? I didn't know who really delegated the SP until today.

(Credit: here)

The delegated SP

It would be impossible for me to show that I really had 27 SP as delegated power when I started Steemit as I do not know where to look for that information but I took an example as the sight might be familiar to us.

All those who created their account using the normal way of authentication, providing the mobile number and waiting for the approval would see an amount of SP that was delegated to us. In the case of the above screenshot, it is 2.483 SP. When I created my account, it was around 27 SP.

For those who know that they should be having an inital amount of SP, it would be better to check your wallet as it might be gone!!!!!!!!

Who was the delegator?

When I created my account nd till now, I never bothered to find this out as all I know is that it allowed me the minimum bandwidth to be able to post, comment and upvote on Steemit.

The above screenshot is from my own account and this what SP gives you in the Steemit company. How much bandwidth and how much you can utilise your account.

Who delegated power to us in the first place?

Most of you, who is like me, and did not check it is @steem who delegated the Steem Power to us in the first place. When we create an account, it is this account that delegates power to us.

Whether there is a person or an algorithm behind the account is up for debate as I do not know the whole internal working of Steemit.

The @steem account has been created in March 2016 almost the same time the Steem network was created.

History of @steem

If we check closely the account of @steem, it is surprising there is no history when you check it on Steemit.

The wallet history is surprisingly empty for an account that was created in 2016 and there is no post or comment or curation reward.

Who funded the account in the first place is unknown. Yet the account is worth around $49.5 USD by today's exchange rate.

The questions?

I don't really mind the account in the first place at it is the one that allowed me to use Steemit in the first place.

But on the other side, here are some questions that I find puzzling:

  1. Who owns the account?
  2. The history of the wallet is empty so how come it is worth over 49 million USD?
  3. Does this mean all records on Steem is not written on the blockchain?
  4. Who determines what is written on the Steem blockchain?
  5. Is it truly decentralised?
  6. If we keep having high SP, who guarantees that there is a code behind that will be executed in the future that will take all of the SP that we have invested without any warning?
  7. Except if there are any sources that advertised that @steem is going to undelegate, the account itself didn't provide any information as a post.
  8. Is Steem flawed? We need to have a section for important updates that goes to everyone either through mail or other means as when we register on Steemit, we provide our email address and I believe important information can be sent to all of us through mass mailing and it doesn't even cost that much!

Conclusion

I may be wrong on many of the questions that I have asked as the knowledge may be somewhere but what eventually bugged me is that there was no official information about it and the account that delegated power to me in the first place is unknown with the the fund that it has not written on the blockchain.

A special mention to @mahdiyari, who is also a witness, is proposing to delegate his own Steem Power to accounts who are low on SP and is not able to comment, post or upvote on Steemit due to the undelegation. If you want some help, do check out his post here.


Don't know how you should be feeling after reading the post? Why not play the Steemit Lotto Game on this post to change your mind: Steemit Lotto Weekly # 12 - Minimum Pot Size 50 STEEM!!!!

Good luck to everyone  ? 


Don't forget to check if you are a winner every Sunday at around 19 00 (GMT)

(created by @readallaboutit)

Sort:  

I didn't know that @steem provided the initial delegation. At one point, I had over 100 SP delegated, but now it's gone. @ironshield

Oh! 100 SP! You were lucky XD

First you should read FAQ section in steemit.com (it is for all users).

Creating account on steem blockchain needs some steem as delegation. which was about ~27sp (recently reduced by witnesses to ~14 SP)
@steem creates accounts on steem blockchain for free! to preventing abuses it needs your phone and email. (email is needed for recovering hacked accounts)
@steem should undelegate new registered users to create new users! and it is important to our community.
without @steem, you shoud pay about 25 USD to create new accounts. but can you do this for all users?
@steem is controlled by the founders of steemit and steem blockchain.

(developers of other coins like ETH, BTC, ... are holding at least 40% of that coin. you can't say it is decentralized or not!)

Thanks for your comments. It has helped me understand and I hope it will be beneficial to others also XD

I have also noticed this today. I even checked few other's people wallets and it's really gone! I'm very curious about where it came from and where it disappeared today.

It was delegated by @steem. Why the account undelegated is a mystery to me :(

Wow Great detail you have given me, I have learnt a lot.

Really glad to have been of help :)

Yeah, don't sweat the Steem going back where it came from. It was only there to get us started. Mine is deteriorating as I Power Up. As it should :) You got this, you don't need their delegation anymore, haha!

Haha indeed I don't mind it going back. It allowed me to research the @steem account a bit and informed others who didn't know about it.

But there is a real lack of communication when it comes to announcements on Steemit.

Oh yeah for sure. It just kind of happens, lol.

thanks for shearing and help me by giving upvote plz. because i am new

I lost my 28 SP, really worked hard to reach upto 58, but now my SP is reduced to 30, I will get that SP or not, if no then is there any information if undelegation will be repeated for the same account or not. Can anyone clarify it because I don't want to lose my SP because I know in which conditions I have earned it, it took continuous efforts of three months.

Only the 28 SP was delegated. The SP that you have earned with hard work cannot be undelegated. You should not worry about the SP that you have remaining as it is entirely yours.

The 28SP that was delegated to you initials was taken back to allow for creation of new accounts. Check with @mahdiyari for a delegation boost in the link in my post.

If this is taken back to create new accounts then its fine, but I have one concern, it will not be repeated right, because after doing more hard work, I am not willing to lose my SP once again without any notification or information. Thank you so much for your advice.

Have a great day and stay blessed.

Don't worry it will not happen again for your account :)

Thanks for the kind update. That's really pleasing to hear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67292.64
ETH 3242.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64