Is Steemit BROKEN? I feel like I'm beating a dead horse!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I know that with such a title, I certainly won't get upvotes from whales, but guess what? Nothing from nothing leaves nothing! Because I don't anyways!

So my last post was about powering up and directed at whales. Rather than upvote it, a certain whale decided to critique it instead. I listened and edited my post accordingly and got "crickets". Thus the biggest problem with the Steemit platform raised it's ugly head...NO SUPPORT FROM WHOM SUPPORT MATTERS! Don't get me wrong fellow Steemians, I am appreciative of the few who have supported me, thank you.

This just proves that the "whales" see posts, but just won't upvote it unless you are in their little click or whatever. It's very discouraging to say the least and kinda makes me regret my decision to power up. Someone help me out and please explain how Steemit is going to survive if "the whale favorites" only get support?

I know I'm just one of many but I have been here for months now, hanging in there like everyone said to, waiting for my time to come...I'VE ABOUT DECIDED THAT THIS IS A LOST CAUSE AND NOT WORTH MY TIME OR EFFORT.
#steem
#favorites
#life
#broke

Sort:  

I empathise with what you are saying but I have one piece of advice:

Post what you care about. Not what you think the whales will like.

Build your own audience and in the future (assuming Steemit succeeds) you will reap the rewards. Now that may seem like too much work on something that is a gamble - but go back to any startup in the early days - Apple, Google, Facebook and they were in a very similar position.

Also you may not realise it but you are one of the pioneers just by virtue of being here now. - The equivalent of people mining/buying bitcoin in 2009/2010.

By being here now you still have the potential to be a future whale. You probably won't have a stake the size of what Dan or Ned have (none of us will) but it could still be worth more than anything else you have invested in.

It might not happen but ask yourself what if it did?

What if you gave up and left your chance to make hundreds of thousands if not millions of dollars because you got disheartened and did the equivalent of exchanging 10K BTC for a pizza?

For me that would be more galling than just taking the risk and losing some time and money. Maybe I am just weird though.

I agree. I haven't spent money. Just time. I spend time other places and get nothing at all. I don't really consider it a gamble unless you are spending money. The reason I am not spending money is not because, I don't believe in steemit. I simply have no money to spend. :) I was around when BTC was $0.005/coin. I didn't spend $10K BTC on a Pizza, but I did think $20 for this BTC that seems promising, or buy a pizza for my family. I chose to buy the pizza.

I promised I wouldn't do that again. Around the time I was making that promise I accidentally stumbled onto steemit. :) That was in July.

I have never powered down. I do send some of my coins out to exchange for things I can spend, because like I said I have no money. I have never powered down, and I have powered up my SBD instead of spending it many times. If I had more money I'd likely take a gamble and invest in buying more steem power.

It's a good policy. It is always gambling - even with Bitcoin it could easily have never taken off. Only invest what you can put in. If you are already blogging then it seems like a no-brainer to me that you post on Steemit.

@thecryptofiend has written some really good advice. I admit, I've been galled when I've spent a lot of time writing something only to see very little reward. It's one thing to read in the whitepaper that post value is subjective. It's another thing entirely to see what "subjective" means when you see what/who gets into Trending while your own posts sink....

Over at Bitcointalk ( remember it? :D ), @anonymint pointed out this difficulty in a critique of the whole micropayment-for-content model. Writing for free means you can tell yourself that you're writing for the love of it. But once payments enter the picture, a feedback system comes into play that can be really frustrating because it can tell you that you're working hard for next to no pay.

Add to that, the quite natural habit of scanning the Trending posts to see what kind of content gets rewarded. If you're here to earn, that's what you do: you study the market. But that business-like practice induces you to pick up the bad habit that Maw warned us against - comparing yourself to others!

In my case, I stopped watching the Trending category period. It's my way of implementing the most important part of @thecryptofiend 's advice:

Post what you care about. Not what you think the whales will like.

Better than getting advice form Mom. :)

Loading...

That's what I had been doing, then I messed up and went and studied what's in the "hot" and "trending", 80-90% have titles that don't even seem appealing or even good for that matter, but they all have one thing in common,they talk about Steem or Steemit. So I guess I went into the old" if you can't beat them, join them mentality". You're right though, IF it survives, we will be the pioneers so to speak, maybe there's hope,but right now, I can't see the forest for all the trees,js,thanks for your comment!

That is normal. I have been through similar phases. We all do because we are human. Take a break if you need to and then come back. It will still be here and your SP will continue to grow.

My favorite parts of your advice:

Post what you care about.

&

just taking the risk and losing some time and money

I think that is sage advice. If you post about what interests you, and don't worry about how much money you make, you will enjoy it more. And we are all new and learning.

Thanks. Glad you agree.

Who are these whales and why are you playing to them like they are an audience that wants to be played to? If they are whales and want the value to go up, they just want you to have the best posts with the best content.

I have been here for a couple of months or so, I enjoy Steemit as a free blogging platform. Whether or not you have got paid for any of your posts, did you even have a chance to do so when making posts on forums, reddit, Facebook, twitter, etc?

I know what you mean, i keep seeing comments on my posts saying they're under-voted too. The thing is though, I've been upvoting like crazy, and it seems like no matter how much I vote at 100 percent, my voting power (shown at steemd.com) never goes below 3 percent. That means all the whales could literally upvote every article they see at 100% all day long and they would never ever get any penalty for it. Their voting power would never even reach 1% if they did that. And here they are voting 1% for a tiny handful of posts, keeping their voting power up around 100% on steemd.com. Not only that, but there's whales out there who don't even vote. I think the only solution is for the developers to balance things out. I'm not saying they should make noobs as powerful as whales, but they should just make it so that the whales aren't the only ones who's votes matter. They need to balance the power.

If whales don't vote that voting power gets distributed back to everyone else's votes.

Hasn't so far...

That's because existing guilds are not real guilds, they are controlled by people. We need guilds that are completely neutral where anyone even minnow can get a lot of power. When Dan and Ned say that they are working on curation guilds I am expecting them to build something different than what we already have, and this is a neutral guilds run by code and by code only.

@laonie is doing this already with his voting bot. It votes people based on reputation. It is not perfect but it seems to be doing surprisingly well.

Solution: buy all the Steempower, become biggest whale.

Resteemed, upvoted and followed.
I hear you on this. I think there's sometimes a little more selfishness on the platform than I'd like.
I've been working on a plan to allow users to buy Steem with Paypal. In light of the approaching Hard fork and possible devalue I thought whales in particular would be very interested in a concept which might well push Steem value back up but no one seems to care.

I would say only one word about PayPal used in this manner:
chargeback

We all have to stick together and look after each other as the Whales don't seen that interested :)

Hey Captain of steemit. You hit the fucking iceberg!

up voted and followed

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 21. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.83 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 21 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64251.91
ETH 3494.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54