Reflections on Being on Steemit the last 6 Months.

in #steemit6 years ago

Today I want to talk a little about some thoughts about being on Steemit since January 2018

thought-2123970_1920.jpg

My first thoughts about this Steemit experience after 6 months is that this is here to last. I have not really noticed a single major downtime. Transactions and the Steem Blockchain has always performed with amazing speed. I don't see content as the strength of Steem Blockchain but the ability to connect human hearts together to build deeper trust and relationships. It happens very low key in the background. People make sacrifices for other people.

not-hear-1760740_1920.jpg

I do not max out my upvote power each day. Which might make some people panic to hear. Maxing out that would imply that I'm only here for the money and that I live with scarcity mindset. I know that a 0.03 upvote and a caring comment response to a user can do way more good than lavishly splash 0.5 upvotes around. The Tokens are just here to make some form of sacrifice for another human. You could have voted on yourself but you decided to do a kind caring act for someone else.

I see how there is a real passionate community on Steemit. Discord works amazing for communication. Or Telegram. I like the amount of passionate developers and geeks on this social forum. They have great passion for their projects and they usually do updates low key in the background.

youtube-2398801_1920.png

I can also find real original content creators. But that will mainly happen from video creators. The core blog writing aspect on Steemit there is very few people that are skillful in superior writing to make stuff interesting and engaging. But I still think everyone should master at least the comment aspect. To learning to care for other humans and truly listen to them. This is your most valuable asset. Since care is rare in the online world. Relationships cannot be made logical. Since every human is very different. Some things we like and others we don't like.

I have noticed that there is lots of kind people here. Lots of kind whales. I have earned around 1300 STEEM from kind whales in the last 6 months here. Which comes to around 7 STEEM per day. I am always amazed how high average numbers usually is. I actually enjoy the free market and seeing the trending page on Steemit be in sort of like a chaos. I enjoy how there is a market place to buy votes. I enjoy seeing passionate people. I have always loved the survival of the fittest game.

background-2492010_1920.jpg

I really believe so much in Steemit since I see it just like Facebook and YouTube but with a built in digital currency and passionate community. I enjoy how this community is not mainstream yet. So it has a rare special feel to it. Community feelings are hard to re-create. I enjoy being an investor in the Steemit platform and see how many options I have to grow myself here. I like when the markets go down since I then can buy in more. I enjoy seeing the chaos. I enjoy reading of people leaving since I see how they completely miss the bigger vision. I see how they usually always come back.

I have always had this feeling that something was wrong with both Facebook and YouTube but I could never pin point it down what it was that caused me to dislike it. I notice now that it was because the platforms aren't designed to be win-win. The value gets stuck in the founders instead of the daily users. With Steemit everyone becomes an investor the moment they have an account.

And from there it's all about proof of brain. I like how Steemit is being run by the community. It makes everything way more fair. I have had both Facebook, YouTube and Instagram shadow ban material. This is something that never happens on Steemit since everything is open and transparent. Which creates deeper relationships with real trust.

coin-1379517_1920.jpg

I haven't seen any major downside with Steemit. It's interesting to see all these extra Token benefits you get just by being a Steemit user. There is so much digital stuff you can earn here. That may have future value. I learn more about Steemit everyday and it's a constant learning curve which keeps things constantly interesting. Some people have complained that Steemit looks bad in design I actually love the design.

Flashy designs are usually not that user friendly. I rather have a user friendly UI instead. I have noticed that YouTube users coming here and trying to do same thing as they do on YouTube usually fails pretty hard. They need to realize that this is a different community where you have to completely adjust your content to this specific niche and place.

cow-1287866_1920.jpg

Also with those other communities people have grown lazy when it comes to the care aspect. They just want to sit back. Get the followers and think they are done now. While the new 2018 Internet users expects more from people they follow. They want a more personal communication style instead of the distant type we have seen on many other platforms. We can see for example with both Instagram and Snapchat that people want to be closer to their favourite creators. They want real involvement.

The revolution with micro transactions will make people feel truly appreciated a lot. Since we are doing the same things as we did in the past doing stuff on the Internet but now we are getting paid for it. We are getting paid for what we do on our so called Semester. That will say we are making humans much more effective at generating new value. Work becomes effortless and very natural. No longer requires so much physical work. Now you only need to manage a phone and tap some things and use your mind a little and you can start to generate amazing potential future abundance for yourself.

I think it will take at least another 3-5 years before Steemit and the Steem Blockchain goes fully mainstream. Since we need to get out the Smart Media Tokens and better third party apps. We need to Tokenize the whole Internet and make sure that people are enjoying the experience on Steemit. We need to make it much easier for new users to get in on the community when they are new. Perhaps creating a sponsor system the first weeks where a person gets support from an older member that knows his way around things here. Maybe he can get some extra STEEM for it.

snow-3066167_1920.jpg

The reason why Steem Blockchain will succeed is because we are not trying to reinvent the wheel. We are not trying to be the new Facebook or YouTube. We are just looking at those platforms and improving the business model by empowering the users so much more by giving them a digital currency. So the power is in the users hands. Everyone becomes a long term investor in the platforms that they use the most. Clearly this is the most fair system to have! As I have said in the past. The Steem Blockchain is a true win-win system. If someone wins on this platform and increase it's value then everyone else also wins since they are Steem Token holders! So this completely removes the jealousy aspect.

klee-1949981_1920.jpg

The Win-Lose paradigm on Earth is dying more and more. The idea of scarcity is dying as we get confronted with abundance. I wouldn't say we are building a new world we are just making life much more frictionless and faster in all kinds of ways. Humans are hardwired to save Time and Energy. Saving that is massive value for us. And with that comes massive innovation and creativity. Steemit is now my main place to spend my time on the Internet. Since it gives me the most value in return, and that I can build life time friendships here with intelligent humans!

We can create trillions of new dollars in value when we allow humans to generate their own money via the Token system. All the things that was exclusive to Big Banks or Big Corporations now becomes available for everyone to play around with. Just because of the magic of Technology.

Screen Shot 2018-07-20 at 17.54.46.png

My old work used to be mainly working with showcasing smartphones on the Internet on YouTube. But then smartphones became so natural and mature that I started to look at what the next evolution in Tech would be. It came in the name of Steemit. Now most of my work has transcended into the Cloud. And it makes my life so much more frictionless and effortless! I'm looking forward to be a part of the future journey of Steem Blockchain and see how things will develop and blossom.

Photo source: Pixabay

phoneinf - original article

Sort:  

It seems you've grown a lot in 6 months. I'm glad you still remain positive. Too many people twnd to fet negative about the steemit community.

This is so great and inspiring, I want to wake every morning and connect with people here by writing my thoughts and sharing with them , and when I return at night, just connect with them. It's amazing the content we get here. It's very inspiring; your article too. Thanks.

I am new hear and I already love it...thanks for sharing your thoughts...
Hoping to reach your level one day :)

I felt like, you have full of love and passion for steemit platform. Just above 1 month on.. I can really relate to this energy.
Thank you for sharing your thoughts.. 😀😀

Hi, I am new to this, still exploring and learning how this works. I am happy to read that this platform is something I was hoping for. I can't wait to start! :)

Great summary, thanks for posting! I'm new to steemit, and the idea of a decentralized platform to share content really excites me. This concept of removing the middle man(i.e., facebook) and rewarding the folks who actually contribute platform rather than manipulate them for advertising dollars is revolutionary. This philosophy seems to be at the core of the crypto movement and am excited to see what the future holds !

I feel the same way. I am very excited to see where Steemit goes. I love to write blogs and short articles and I am having fun writing on Steemit.

Was my six months, 2 ago was on here a lot longer but just lurked and couldn’t of put what you’ve said better - especially about the video creators!!

You started using bots?
Great post! ;) lol

I'm optimistic Steem will go mainstream within 3 years but hard to say for sure. 3-5 years is probably more likely.

Great to hear you had a positive experience, hopefully, steemit continues to grow.

I can agree 100% with this post!

GREAT ARTICLE @phoneinf

I REALLY like your idea for some older Steemians to help walk through the newcomers for a few weeks to show them the ropes to make it on the platform long term instead of the short term and before they give up...

Sincere comments like this is NEEDED for WELL deserving post like this!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60589.35
ETH 2628.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53