You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Few Clarifications About Steem.Supply Browser Mining

in #steemit7 years ago

I consider myself relatively expert, it didn't happen between yesterday and today. The personal jibe is not appreciated.

I'm not talking about whether or not you announced it in a post, but whether or not it is obvious to the visitors of your site, who may not have read that notice.

There's a reason why businesses are required by law to display certain notices prominently, sometimes in store if they have bricks and mortar stores, or on their online stores. It's because not every customer has taken the time to review every press release they've made recently for information that may be relevant to their custom.

Someone using your website essentially implicitly enters into a business agreement with you to lease their CPU power for access to your service. Most people want to explicitly make agreements, so this is the problem.

Sort:  

So, if I dare to question your expertise over a comment, you frown. But how am I suppose to feel when I'm called thief, fuck, cunt and so on?

And I think this may be the fourth time I'm writing this today, that I'm planning to put some sort of a notice on steem.supply on the next update.

Belive it or not, although very vocal, people who are not agreeing with how things are right now are still a minority. Things were ok for like 2 months, then suddenly this minority screams that whoever using a miner script is a villain, or a crook.

When did you get the consent of your users to mine cryptocurrency using their browser? I have your web page open in a browser with no ad blocks, there is no pop up or any kind of disclaimer saying that you monetize with cryptocurrency.

I mean, that's dramatically put, but for what it's worth I didn't call you any of those things and I'm sorry you were.

Usually the negative is louder than the positive, perhaps you can just ignore this ruckus. I wanted to challenge you to be more ethical and to examine whether you set things up ethically. I'm not convinced you really care about that so I suppose I have my answer.

I'm not convinced you really care about that

Man, I wrote about that thing 2 months ago! I publicly stated this 2 months ago! You see this today and then you say I don't care about ethics?

There isn't yet any accepted standard about this and people are moving in droves, pushed by fear, in a direction which is usually worse than the current situation. Suddenly, there's over-standardization. People are forgetting what steem.supply is about and they only think about this mining thing. It's like they want to replace steem.supply with a huge banner saying: "I'm mining coins as a villain that I am, you fuckups! I want your CPU cycles as a villain that I am".

It's ridiculous...

I'm a follower of yours @dragosroua and enjoy reading your content.

This is a complicated situation. There's a lot of hypocrisy I see on this site around income streams. Everyone makes a buck somewhere, some are more honest than others with their methods. Some would like to seem extremely honest and selfless but perhaps their internal focus is not so kosher. We're humans and it's hardwired into most of us, I'm always surprised when people forget that and become upset...

To put this situation as simply as possible from my perspective, hopefully it helps rather than pours fuel on the fire.

I don't think it should be seen as a problem that you setup a way to make extra income and you did the right thing in making the announcement.

However, if you don't want anyone to call you out on things then it's up to you to mitigate that. You're in tech so I'm sure you're used to QA (and how tedious that can sometimes be) but it also exists for not only bugs but also to catch things like that.

Information needs to be apparent at all times, at source, not just an article from the past on Steemit (I know they're connected but still). Therefore, the people who are saying that should have happened, are right. Or at least they represent a percentage of people who are willing to kick up a stink if they're not satisfied. It's your responsibility to ensure users are aware of whatever you are doing, if you'd like to seem transparent that is. Now you already have this in place with the notification from JSEcoin, which is cool, but you need to test to make sure it's sufficient. It's the solution, I'm not saying it's one many or anyone would take time to ensure either...

When I say need, you don't NEED to. It's not a requirement, no one will lock you up. But you will have to weather the onslaught of potential hate in these situations and provide answers on the backfoot. By then, people can develop strong opinions that could have been halted at source. And this theory is correct anywhere, things should be tested rigorously, checked, etc or we run the risk of someone getting the wrong impression.

I hope that seemed more insightful than critical!

Thanks, appreciate the insight. I already put in place a one time popup notification and there is also a permanent notice at the bottom of the page. I would have done this anyway (and I told to some of the people asking if I would do this), if I wouldn't spend so much time answering to the comments (most of the time coming from people not knowing what they are talking about). I'm not hiding anything, I'm always open about what I do, so putting that notice wouldn't have been a problem anyway.

With that being said, let's put this behind.

Steem on!

Yep definitely. It's been flagged now and discussed and hopefully it's positive progress from here...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62299.02
ETH 2440.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65