You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Tips: How NOT To Behave On Steemit -- Cognitive Dissonance

in #steemit7 years ago

People seem to be separating themselves into ghettos of thought. So rare is it that they hear a contradictory opinion that when they do the immediate reaction is to leap fall back on the defensive "how dare they challenge my world view" Little understanding that diversity of opinion and to be challenged on said opinion is what drives this world forward, unless you're a colony of ants of course! upvoted and followed.

Sort:  

Social media is actually designed to create these ghettos. The more you use them, the greater the information the analytics has to present more and more things that already conform to your worldview. For instance, when I watch videos on YouTube, I often get ads for Gaia TV. When my wife watches, she gets makeup ads. Yet I have never seen an ad for makeup on my account and she has never seen an ad for Gaia TV on hers.

Yes I completely agree, In many ways, it's proving to be the greatest tool of division the world has ever seen. It creates a sense of entitlement which can lead to anger/rage when others present a difference of opinion. Especially during election cycles!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60535.47
ETH 2656.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46