NEW website - www.howtosteemit.com - simple newbie instructions - first test stage - please give feedback

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I decided to build the website http://howtosteemit.com to act as a sticky for newbies to steemit.

Personaly i believe, a lot of people have come to steemit and then not known how to use the site. I have seen evidence of this in many posts on steemit and also from friends who ive recommended to steemit, who then contact me to say 'what do i do?' i think this could be 1 of the reasons why there are over 100,000 steemit users but only 4,500 are active!

I realise there are many posts on this subject but a lot are not so simple and they get lost in the steemit ether.
A link to this site could be placed on steemit to help new users get started.
I will be submitting this site to the steem app centre.

This is a first draft at the moment so i would really like feedback at this stage as to whether users think this is a worthwhile project to continue with?

Is the navigation of howtosteemit ok?
Do you think the answers are simple enough?
what Questions/answers would you like to see on howtosteemit?
Or any other feedback would be gratefully recieved.

I intend to make a logo and put some images in and posibly some videos and more tutorials on how to use steemit, steem and SBD etc but would first like some feedback.

So far i have funded the domain name and webspace with SBD i have earnt on steemit. if you think this project is worthwhile please upvote and i will use the SBD to continue funding the site and other future projects to help the steemit community. Or if you would like to donate SBD or STEEM to this project feel free to send to pcste and in the memo put donation to howtosteemit

P.s.
I have over 500 friends on fb and will be posting this to try and get people on steemit.
thanks for reading

Sort:  

Hey @pcste i followed you! maybe you will be interested to follow me. Need knowledgeable people like you on Steemit, without people like many Steemians would not stay educated about Steemit! Heads Up! maybe we could collaborate in the future !

Maybe we could link Steemit Post from your site to Steemit ! , you could features the most knowledgeable Steemit accounts who help educate others, heads up for this project and i like the design of your site!

thanks, and yes i agree maybe we should collaborate. following you too.

Hi,

Great post. I am one of those who doesn't know how. In particular, I'd like to set up a writing contest. Rather than re-typing everything here I'd like to refer you to my post https://steemit.com/writing/@mgaft1/steemit-writing-contest

Can you please read it and give me an advice of how I can do this on Steemit. BTW, you don't have to upvote my post. To me it's much more important to create the contest.

Cheers

I think you need a different way of choosing the winner of your contest. some people have more followers than others and so get more votes. you would need to judge the winner or have guest judges.
Maybe look at what @jamtaylor is doing with the #steemitphotochallenge. you might be able to get some ideas.

The contest entries must be anonymous until judging is completed. This way the follower wouldn't know whose entries they are voting for. I was looking for this type of mechanism.
However, if such mechanism isn't available in Steemit, I would have to see what these user have done.

Thank you.

Great idea! Thanks for sharing.

I will check it out, thanks for sharing this information!

This is a good idea.

Good on you. We really must support new users in order to continue to grow the platform. I'm going to promote this.

Thanks :-)

Thx much needed info.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68148.22
ETH 3249.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67