Steemit Writing Contest

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

Image Credit

A few years ago I participate in a monthly writing contest at one of the Yahoo groups. The premise of the contest was that once a month a group owner was proposing the story title. Then, everybody who wanted to participate submitted their own short story. The time to submit was one month usually from the fifteenth of one month and until the fifteenth of another one. Then the appointed jury decided which three entries won. The process of decision making usually took 2 weeks. During these two weeks, the entries were posted for a critique.

This was a good learning experience and a lot of fun. Something similar can be done here. Only the jury part will be changed to voting by members. Here's how I suggest this be done.

The Steemit already provides the 1 to 100 voting scale. Multiple people can vote for each story. Then the story grade could be calculated by averaging all the votes for each entry. The highest score will determine the winner. Winning entries could be given some kind of Steemit sign of fame, which one of the philanthropic artists here could create.

I understand that there are people here who could whip out a story in one day. However, we also have many people here who have a day job. Therefore, I think a month duration seems appropriate.

Of course, we need a help from the founding fathers in order to create software guts for such a contest. Considering a relative ease of the contest grading I don't believe this will be hard to do.

That's all folks. Your input is greatly appreciated.

Sort:  

Thank you. The problem is how to get it to the attention of the funding fathers. :)

I'm glad you're going ahead with this idea! Let me know if there's anything I can do to help. I can't help with software guts, but maybe there's something else that needs doing. :)

Thank you.
I can write the program in c#, to illustrate how grading should work. But I have no access to Steemit code. More so I don't know if the guys in charge would want to implement something like that. Thus, the most important part of the whole thing is for them to see this post and consider this idea. If you can somehow make them aware of it that would be great.

Thank you again
Cheers

The guys in charge... I don't know them and have never gotten their attention, but it couldn't hurt to re-steem this and hopefully it will float on to wherever it needs to, to be seen by the right people! (resteeming)

Thumb UP!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63626.66
ETH 2640.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75