new features on steemit - home and feed, Tags and Topics and the voting bar. 5 vote issue. what do minnows think?

in #steemit8 years ago


Was really liking the new features on steemit , then i saw the voting slider and read the 0.14.0 Release Candidate.
Some nice implementations but then more complexity and confusion.

You may have noticed the new home button in the top menu. this is now your feed. I really like this. it looks and works better than the last feed we had. now you are more likely to see your followers posts as its your home page and you can now access the tags and topics on the same page. Its starting to feel more like a community social media site. I feel it integrates better now. you also have a feed button in your profile icon dropdown, which is the same as home.

I'm glad we've gone back to the old tags and topics system. you now have access to more topics than recently. some users have been getting confused thinking the topics had gone or just wern't there. this helps to solve this issue.

The voting bar. im afraid i dont like this already and its only been half a day. its very annoying popping up every vote and to be honest i don't really understand it and i think most others don't either.
This also ties in with the 5 votes rule. which initialy seems to be worrying people. I think this is because most people dont understand it. me included.

At first i thought it was really bad but after reading posts for the last 5 hrs im not so sure. all i know is its all a bit complex and seems to have been put accross to people in a very confusing manner.

As a minnow i'd really like to know how this affects minnows and new users?
What does eveybody think? we are part of this community and i think we need to speak up and say our opinions.

i have included a few links about the issues.
post by @steemitblog about the new release candidate and the 5 vote rule.
https://steemit.com/steem/@steemitblog/announcing-steem-0-14-0-release-candidate

post by @dennygalindo about the positives of the 5 vote rule and the voting slider
https://steemit.com/feedback/@dennygalindo/prospect-theory-5-votes-a-day-good-just-marketed-wrong

Sort:  

This is not about posting my link. It is about my deep concern for SteemIt. Here is what I think.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@whatsup/can-steemit-program-it-s-way-out-of-a-problem-curation

The changes look good to me.

i am liking the changes!

I am not really sure.

I really like the voting bar. You get to decide how much weight your vote has, and can actually expand your voting power. For example, vote on my comment, and move the slider to 1%. You can show that you appreciate the comment, but hardly touch your voting power. Find an article that blows your mind, vote for it 100% It will also maximise your curation power :)

I don't get a voting bar. Just tested on this thread even. Nothing. Guess I only get 5 votes with my already limited steem power. Terrible for the little guys.

You can vote as many times as you like, but only 5 votes will be full power. When I started a month ago I had under 10 Steem Power. I reinvested the earnings from my blog to obtain more, with the aim of achieving curation rewards. I think you need a Steem Power of over 300 to get the voting bar.

im starting to understand the voting bar a bit more thanks to your comment. However it still is all a bit complicated and elitist, in that most people do not know about these issues, because there are no 'sticky' posts with help and explanations when something like this crops up. if you dont see a trending post explaining whats just happened then it gets lost in the ether and you are in the dark. I think most people on social media sites don't want this complexity, most are not techies and just want to click and go. I fear things like this are driving users away.

I don't have a voting bar either.

Ok
I guess I will need to get into this
How Many tags are we allowed to use??
Topics?
I will try to go read this

I think we should develop subtopics to be included into more known topics. Lile fpr example subtopics in the topic steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60596.21
ETH 2611.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64