The rival of Steemit !

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Steemit is growing huge and it's initial members are getting huge profit but we have a huge rival where no one is caring. They are not letting new steemians increase their quality.. They are the bots and boosters.

What are they doing?
You may be unaware of that, I was also unaware of it till yesterday till I saw all of my Nepali fellow steemians making huge amount of money. Their posts were nothing more than some crap and they were making decent amount of money. I was surprised till I saw who were their upvoter's and the lists says, "randowhale" , "postpromoter" and "minnowbooster".

I joint a facebook group and saw some "Steemit Gurus" suggesting that "You must get some SBD at first and boost your post and from the money you get from boosting post you can boost your next post". And the matter of shame for the community is that it is working.

There are thousands of steemians trying to be original and getting nothing and leaving steemit because of that. And some crap who are either copying posts from somewhere or either posting some ordinary photo they took and getting huge returns from that.

Another matter of shame is that those people are even getting huge followers because of their SteemPower. Their followers want to be upvoted from him. Those people think they are doing good on steemit but they don't have any foreign people comments in their post, they don't have views in their posts. Their quality is the same from where they started.

I don't know what it is like in your country but in case of Nepal it is like a bitcoin faucets where you visit, get some money and leave. I didn't knew until someone added me in their facebook conversation and I was surprised ! They were giving their links and asking for upvotes. They had made a community where they will upvote and follow whatever their fellow steemians write. I checked most of them and almost not a single one had original content.

There were one or two gurus and when I tried to explain them this they were like, "You have less reputation and less follower than us and you are teaching us ?" Everyone believed and I was the odd one posting something original maybe it is not valuable for you but I am spending my time and my brain to increase my quality.

We must save steemit before this bots destroy us. They are ruining steemit than helping.

Thank You for reading. I maybe wrong and if I am wrong please feel free to correct me !

I was going to decline reward in this post but I forget to do that, Sorry !

Please comment ! No need to Upvote !

If you have any friend facing same problem please refer them here and we will start joint campaign !

Sort:  

Excellent post. I've been having very similar conversations over the last couple of days. I spend ages trawling through all the 'crap' you mentioned, trying to find something decent to curate on. It's like the system is getting clogged with junk . I put a lot of effort into my blog, but pretty much avoid these bots, as I don't know what's acceptable or worth while. Good content is getting lost amidst all this 'noise' and lazy, shoddy posts are reaping the rewards, whilst creative articles, where a great deal of effort has gone in, are not even getting seen as they're being pushed out. I can only see this problem getting worse, if it's not addressed.

It's the same in curation, I don't know about you, but as a new Steemian, even I'm getting tired of "I upvoted you, you up vote me?" comments on my posts. Another form of spamming. Much more and I'll start flagging them. I also encountered the Facebook, thinking it would be a discussion group, but no, I suddenly got inundated with upvote requests and links.

The situation is even worse here. I was away from this situation and I used to think all those posts were of good quality getting huge upvotes and I was surprised to see someone from my facebook group getting $25 worth of post in almost all the crap he makes and I researched and found their were too many other steemians doing same and earning even more.

This must be stopped, I will work against it and I want all of your help !

Count me in @pathi. If I can help in anyway, just let me know. I stumbled across some whale posts discussing this problem. Perhaps we should look out for these and start commenting en masse? 😉

Let us support together !
I know there are a lot of content creator facing this same problem we need to help them. This site must be original. I have asked @taskmaster for help if he helps this may get into mainstream.
Thank You for your support @looksfarwomen !

Great idea, I hope you get a response. Keep posting on this subject, and I'll be sure to help as best I can for a newbie.

Thank You for your support @looksfarwomen

We must work against it my friend !
If we unite we may stop this

I think there are too many bots, there must be a way to stop this? It's bad for the community and bad for the long term stability of the platform.

Yes but trust me there are so many steemians just here on steemit using bots. They don't care other people vote them or not but they all need is the bot vote and it is very unhealthy for steemit !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64998.89
ETH 3514.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37