What you should not do on Steem - Tutorial for newbies with wrong habits

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I understand it, guys. On Instagram, on Twitter, on whatever mass social bedlam network you are growth in, they taught you to do marketing in a way.

Ok. You are not there. THIS is a different kind of social media. On Steem you get rewards for creating and posting your contents, not for a damn nothing.

(Ok, sometimes someone gets rewards even for a damn nothing, but that's not the rule.)

So, what you really really shouldn't do here? 

It's asking for upvotes and followers. 

Yes, probably you could find other new users looking for a shortcut that will give you follow4follow and upvote4upvote, but you are not going anywhere that way. You won't get good reward or good reputation. On the contrary, you will get a bad reputation.

Here is some examples of that wrong behaviour (mostly on Steemit.chat)

Sometimes there are really stupid beggars/spammers:

SO, don't be that way, if you want to grow a following and be part of this community. Steem doesn't work like most of the other social network.

IF you want to take the right road, try reading @sykochica's tutorials and faqs.

That's a good start ;)

Sort:  

The F4F culture developed so that people were marketing themselves by inserting their avatar onto someone else's page. Follow doesn't have that same effect on Steemit - you just end up with a very long home feed of stuff you don't wanna read on here! It's a matter of changing culture and behaviour.

Smart Follow 2 Share.

the f2f culture got here around 2 months ago, I've received some welcomes, even being here for almost a year, nothing more than spammers and assholes, buuuuuut what can you do, flies and bees all go for the honey, flies also go on some shits :D, so don't be flies, be bees, actually produce something, I do wish they would read, but it seems rewards are in their heads and everyone is scamming for a way in :)

I have also come across 'f4f' spam bots. Their blog history is usually generic content, youtube videos with 'meh' automated AI written description to make them bypass cheetah, and their comment history is full of the same cut and paste f4f comments, with maybe a few variations. Thankfully they mostly get very little upvotes. I've flagged a couple of such bots to help reduce their reputation.

Paolo, Thank you for these pointers. As a newbie, an 8 days old minnow, I certainly appreciate the wisdom of your counsel. A strong image and good bonds will never get built if I go around begging for votes. I did try to draw attention initially by posting links of my articles but realized quickly that it may amount to spamming. Am more focused now on creating quality content. Do not know yet how good or bad I am at it. Anyway - thank you for this article.

I would be honored if you take a look at my latest blogs when you have time. I think a blog about my first tiger photo with a story about that encounter may be interesting. Your comments would be very welcome. I will learn from them . Upvotes / follows would not matter. Thanks

thx! Read @sykochica's post to have good hints :)

You are absolutely right
We all should not do anything like this
This can affect our reputation on steemit also

Thank You for sharing this amazing post

oh like twatter and instagram suffer from spamming :D it's just going to bring us down to the common denominator, nothing more, I'm sure that the established connections formed here will flourish anyways :)

Couldn't you have posted this like at the day i started? :D

My first post was exactly: follow me and I'll follow you ..

You could choose the introduceyourself tag as well i think, since most of the beginners start there?

and thanks for trying to help the community get better

introduceyourself is just for... self introducing, I think ;)

well true haha
steem-help
this is better i guess? :D

I feel like you must have been in #postpromotion a little while ago when I, someone new to Steemit, encountered this expectation of returned upvote. I just wanted to get my post exposure, not get harassed because I didn't want to upvote empty content.

Well written and needed. Thanks.

Lately it seems begging and aggressive post promotions with continuous private messages in Steemit.Chat and Discord becoming so frequent it becomes super annoying. I even have some users who continue promoting their posts to my private channel, even when I tell them to read me post. What I've seen int he general Steemit.Chat channels is postptomotion with my username in it so I get an alert, but I'm pretty sure these users never ever visited my profile page.

Generally I ignore them, some I send a link to my post and ask them to read. Your post I like to use as well as an answer to those who asked the follow/followback.

I started getting annoyed, then I just stopped caring, some guy had 1000 followers last time I checked, he was spamming everywhere, he had 600 when he spammed me days before that, so should I go around flagging 1000 people, fuck that, I'd rather just weed out the bad and upvote only good posts, we can storm their reputation, but with the new HF they would just spam more accounts I'm sure :D

Yep Yep I should also move myself into the mode of 'not caring' :) I'm half way already :)

well I do leave "informative" comments to them, like did you read the rules, "..ONCE.." or STOP SPAMMING or the flaggs will roll, they generally say sorry sorry, buuuut I can't really know what they are doing, most of them are foreign and are bad with english, so I'm guessing we should host some curriculums and teach some manners, while doing some minor flagging to caution them, if they spamm for weeks, but I'm too lenient, some people would nuke them to negative rep, they would cry out I came here for the rewards, because they missed on the stay for the community, since its hard to commune/connect with strangers, aaaand that's the end of the story hopefully :D I do wish they would spend some time improving themselves so we wouldn't have to be "teachers"

I cannot agree more. On comments I just don't give an upvote to the comment and I do not respond to the comment; Two things I generally give and do to comments. On private chat promotion, I either post the link to this post I created some time ago, or mute/blacklist them. With more and more newbies coming in we will see this more and more, so I think we need to get something organised in Steemit, maybe a kind of a cheetah bot that auto respond to comments with words like 'upped' in it or something; Count the number of times a users had these typeof words in his/her comments and when above a certain level (eg 5 in 5 days), then auto comments, flagging or whatever needs to be done. Or a guild that only go after the comments with these bad ways of asking for follows and votes.

naah I'd rather have the community step up and give a good example rather than some automation to smash, I can't say I like the auto listing. If they start caring for what they contribute and what they learn/share here it would benefit both us because w would have more capable members and them, because they would get involved, host their projects learn, improve themselves ..

we have both of those, cheetah fights plagiarism which is enough and I'm sure the cleaners have enough on their hands as it is, they are the closest to the "guild"

I sincerely hope we can make those who do not behave with respect, will start doing so and indeed as you say, contribute in a good way to the community so we create a strong foundation to grow on. I'll do my part of the eduction for sure :)

heey I hadn't followed you, follow me back :D I'm giving you my 100% vote, aaand cheering the HF which gave us around x10 the power :D also THIS POST REWARDS GOOD COMMENTS! is a great way to incentivize, since it's mostly about incentives, they are chasing rewards after all, and trying to game as much as they can :) I think that is hurting the established soft "rules" here and bringing down the whole community aspect, but it's a trade off, I'm interested to see if HF20 will break the gates completely, previously I had problems with the removal of the post cap, the removal of the 30 day payout also annoyed me. Currently I'm ok with the new HF19 but I would like to see how it affects the whole, I like the fact I can give out ~5 compared to ~1.6 from before linear rewards are nice, but they bring more power into more people so flags won't be as much of a scare, since before you could downvote 5k or whatnot with just a few whales :D

yeah, the postpromotion chat is becoming a spammer swimming pool. I'm going not to put my links there anymore.

But you did for this post hahahaha

lol. right. It would have been funny seeing some spam on a post against that kind of spam :D

100% agree with you. If anyone asks me any of the above questions...I just mute them. Begging on steemit...that has never worked!

nice post @paolobeneforti
good information

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55255.10
ETH 2314.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33