STEEMIT, FOLLOWERSHIP AND REPUTATION: THE VEXATIONS OF A BUDDING STEEMIAN

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

images.png
Source

I am at it once again. I am writing on what I would refer to as ills within the steemit blockchain. This stems from my conversation with those who have started out and made it big within the community. You know what I am talking about, yeah I mean the whales and those who are closer to being whales.

Joining the steemit community like I have said before has been quite a splendid, orgasmic and wonderful experience. Friends are being made on a daily count, confidence in ones writing abilities is built overtime by responsive comments on ones blog and overall useful information are being passed to others through the presentation of quality posts. This leads to the all round development of 'a steemian'.

I write here today to express some dislike for the way some persons try to scare away newbies by telling them that the only way to make it here on steemit is to write quality post. Yeah! You guys might wonder as to if I am against the writing of quality posts. The answer to this question is a capital NO!. This sounds funny in relation to my rejection of those who scare newbies with the mere talk of quality post. I would do better to explain my points to you so that a proper understanding of what I put forth here would be had.

Quality post is not the only basis upon which steemit is built. Steemit is built in such a fashion that socializing is the key to success here and not even quality post. For me if quality post is to be of any help towards ones success here, it does not take more than twenty to twenty-five percent of the success stories on steemit if at all quality post leads to success in the first place. Success here has to be built on your abilities to enthral your audience not just through your quality posts, but through your abilities to captivate them through purposeful comment and chatting through social media platforms.

What brings about success on steemit from what I have seen is based on a social relations with persons who are ahead of you. This is such that they upvote you with their large steempower which causes you to level up and have a robust post payout. Most of those who actually tell others that quality post are what really is needed are far from telling the truth. They do this in order to make no one come to ask for upvote because of the fear that their post would be rejected as being substandard. They do this forgetting that they also passed through the same stage and that what built them is the social network that was created in order that they benefit. They forget that to a very large extent more than half of their posts are not quality enough, they are quite substandard if compared with some newbies that they critique. You may not agree with me on this, but this is what I believe from facts and findings from personal experience and those of others who are happy to tell me their stories.

Screenshot_20180422-230534.png
Source

I was elated when I read through this work and I saw the gifted hands of a romance writer. I then looked towards the post payout and I was like is this for real. There are many more posts like this and I think there should be an intensified encouragement of newbies.

Here, again I might be mistaken on what I put out in the last paragraph. I say once again that I am not done until my views are made explicit for readers consumption and understanding. I am not of the opinion that critiques are not for the best, if not I would not make mention of the fact that being critiqued through comments brings out the best writer in you that was buried deep down. I am of the opinion that there should be constructive criticism. Criticism for what it is and not as a means to an end. Criticism should not be to scare away persons who come to one for upvotes for the sake of not wanting them to come back. The road to glory is not a smooth one so there is no gainsaying the fact that one should be guided in ones relations with others. This is especially for those that are in a higher position.

What guides steemit is the relations that is made through commenting positively and constructively on Whales and the bigwigs posts around and not some quality post shit. Have you ever asked yourself why some newbies quit steemit? Checkout some of their posts and you would be left wanting some more. You would be left in awe at the prowess of such writers to capture your attention. Yet checkout their post payout and all you see is a piece of shit as a reward for their beautiful piece. Yeah! Some newbies posts might actually be substandard, but I still think we should show love to those who are beneath us to leverage them towards success on the steemit blockchain.

This is my view about the workings of steemit. I am very much open to other persons views on this issue that I feel needs to be addressed with love and care and not some piece of shitty quality. I would entertain beautiful comments on this post to know what you all feel like on this issue.

Sort:  

As much as quality post is necessary so we all don't just dump stuffs. It is also important that we find common grounds and leverage in encouragement and friendship. To ensure the continued growth of the platform, it is important that newbies are encouraged and their posts promoted. It's not just more people, it's about more dedicated and ready to explore newbies.

You get the point exactly.
Thanks for dropping a comment

Scaring away? It's not only writing quality posts, you can do a lot of stuff on here that is not posting related. The thing is that you should do something that helps people. Yes, some earn because they have rich friends, but if you want organic votes then doing something that helps people is the right step.

Thanks for your comment. I hope to keep positive through this

@oshiokhenhoya Everyone is fitted to be on stewmit, as long as you have opinions and care, well anyine always can write. 😉

Thanks for dropping by to read, comment and upvote this post. Thanks for your views and I hope to keep positive.

You're welcome my friend! :D

Congratulations!,@oshiokhenhoya Your post has been upvoted by Reach Out, which is proudly sponsored by @eturnerx. Our goal is to support Nigerian minnows on Steemit. Join our discord group https://discord.gg/NWAkKfn

Benefactor : @bleepcoin

Curator On Duty: Richie, the Manual Bot

We invite you to the @eoscafe community [https://discord.gg/wdUnCdE]

Thanks for this

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

For a newbie like me this is a guide. Studying the steemit platform, one needs to be patient as creative. Thanks for the post

Yeah
You are welcome

For me, if the basis of joining steemit is to make money, my brother, you'll be totally frustrated. However, I've learnt that making quality friends like you said in your post, matter more than quality post. Another thing is just have patience and steem on. One day, your patience will pay off. I can feel your pain cause I'm in your shoe too. Cheers!

Yeah! It is a very good one to capitalize on making quality friends while writing beautifully made quality posts.

Thanks for dropping by and steem on.

This is so true. No description could have been better. Im a newbie or let ne say i consider myself one and in my first few weeks, I was frustrated but as @steemgh advised, just keep on steeming and don't be discouraged.

Yeah! That is the spirit, but I would encourage you to socialize while steeming

Keep it up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60192.33
ETH 2321.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50