#Project20MillionNaija : Moving my 5,000 Facebook Friends to steemit

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

@Stach and @ejemai came up with this amazing vision of depopulating creative Nigerians from non-benefiting social media platforms to Steemit where they can widen their networks, showcase their creative talents and knock of poverty in this economic recession.

I got so obsessed with this idea. I took the good news to Nigeria's no.1 online forum Nairaland

See Here :
https://steemit.com/steemit/@onyemacourage/project20millionnaija-getting-steemit-to-nigerians-on-nairaland

Screenshot_2017-11-25-15-39-59.png
Screenshot_2017-11-25-15-38-45.png
Screenshot_2017-11-25-15-40-12.png
Screenshot_2017-11-25-15-41-09.png
Screenshot_2017-11-25-15-41-33.png

Image Source

During the weekend, I decided to get across to my Facebook friends.
I made a post on my Facebook timeline seeking to get the attention of Nigerians who are true and real with no intentions of making money illegally.

Screenshot_2017-11-25-15-17-32.png
I got over 50 positive responses.
I created a whatsapp group STEEMIANS and shared the group link to them privately to enable me address them collectively. After I briefed the first 50 members about steemit, telling them why its better than Facebook and every other social media platforms, I went ahead to allow them share the group link to friends and family so they all can benefit from this awesome platform. Hours later, the group was filled to its brim and then I created another whatsapp group STEEMIANS 2.
Screenshot_2017-11-25-15-23-37.png
Today, over 30 members of these groups have registered and are waiting for their passwords. Others are still buzzing me with messages and calls trying to find out more about the platform to enable them decide if steemit is worth giving a try. I give them all my time and listening ear, answering the questions I could and getting responses from @samstickkz when am faced with questions I can't answer.

This I did and still doing to support the #Project20MillionNaija and see how we could get 20million Nigerians to this awesome community.

You too can be selfless.

Let's share this great experience with others.

DQmSgvWb7SsQm8TMfvUiyEsbfd7sH3M5YZZa7QRsqV2Q5vk.gif

Sort:  

Thank you for Using #promo-steem tag, Promote steemit by inviting your friends and your family!

you got $2.2 up vote at 24% by @hamza-arshad

This post has received a 0.84 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @onyemacourage. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68331.57
ETH 2650.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69