STEEMTIPATHON Takeaways

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

May 5, 2018 I gave away 40 STEEM on Twitter using the new @steemtipper bot. It was an amazing experience.

Steemtipathon Takeaways.jpg

First, I want to thank @followbtcnews and @crimsonclad for my favorite bot. I love technology, AI, VR, and other tech-progressive applications. So I was super excited to give this service a try and I was so happy I did, because it was a blast doing this event.

For those unfamiliar with @steemtipper, you can go to https://steemtipper.com to read all about it. You'll need a Twitter account to use it. And I suggest you sign up for Twitter (and Reddit) because things are going to get a lot more fun this Summer!

Digressing to my point (I can't help but rant) — I learned a lot from the experience as well.

First to note: I made a bunch of big mistakes, blunders, and fails...lmao


Technology

I bought a green screen, and I have soft boxes. What I didn't realize I forgot to buy was new light bulbs. Doh! At the last minute, I had no lighting. So I settled on using my smartphone as a camera and microphone. Whoa. So it was like the longest selfie ever. It was a bit confusing because it lacked the bells and whistles of streaming using software. I couldn't multicast. And so I settled on "sharing" to other platforms. That worked, until I had to restart the stream several times over. By the third time, I just gave up on sharing the stream. In addition, I realized through it all that to do what I initially envisioned, I really need a better webcam anyway.

The Goal

Cecilia D'Anastasio Stream
Screenshot of Cecilia gaming

I'm working on setting up something like this. This screenshot is similar to what I originally planned. Except instead of gaming, it would be tipping, music videos, and other fun stuff going on. I also didn't want to be a in a cam-box. So it's a work in progress. I didn't give myself enough time to set this up properly. I want to go this direction because the same set up can also be use for:

So there are many good reasons to get it together.


Event Length

The event took TOO LONG (lol) — 4.5 hours vs the original 2 planned. It took @jerrybanfield 2 hours to give away 100 Steem. So I figured I gave myself ample time to give away 40. I was so wrong. Ha-ha. It took long in part because I had no format for the event really. I was hosting a Twitter Party at the same time. That's fine, and fun, but that too needs better planning. I've hosted Twitter Parties before. What I didn't anticipate was that many people have never participated in one before. So it all went to the wind after the first hour.

In addition, about half-way through, my son (age 8) decides he wants my tripod and other equipment for his game. So he decided to become a surprise guest on my stream. 😂

Changes:

  • Keeping the program to 2 hours, no matter how much or how little Steem is distributed
  • Scheduling the program while my kids are in school
  • Having the music playlists set up in advance
  • Pre-loading the Twitter Party prompts into Tweet-Deck
  • Having a little website with Q&A for newbies
  • Creating a specific onboarding flow

♥️ I did manage to onboard several new users onto the platform, and several more part-way by having them claim their Steem. I will share a list soon.♥️


Music

I played music by @dflo, @zipporah, @jazzresin, @meno, @paintingangels, @darrenclaxton, and @nathankaye. They're all amazing musicians and if you don't have them in your playlists, you're missing life.

That said, I would like to set up an official music and video submission process. I'd also like to be able to afford to pay musicians something for streaming them over the air like this. Even if it's 0.01 SBD per play, there has to be a way. I just don't feel aligned (even with their permission) streaming their music without compensating them. Perhaps it's a musicians ethic thing, idk. So maybe I need to set up an SMT to go along with this whole campaign as well. I'd love to hear any feedback others might have on this subject. Perhaps in the meantime I can set up an ERC20, Wave, or Bitshare type of token? What do you think? Or maybe I could pay from post rewards? Or maybe out of pocket? Leave a comment if you have any ideas on how to further monetize this campaign so it can be scaled.

Fundraising

Fundraising was not an issue at all. I received generous contributions from @kenistyles, @rcarter, @followbtcnews, @simplymike, and @abh12345. I also got tips from @jerrybanfield and his event. So that worked out wonderfully. What didn't work out so well was the refund script. So some of the Steem is trapped in limbo still unclaimed. @steemtipper has agreed to help sponsor the next event to buffer some of that. So my plan is just to continue to work with the accounts I sent Steem to in order to get that Steem claimed and get them onboarded. So far so good though. I think this campaign has resulted in in at least 6 new users already. But I'll do an official count once I've completed my audit.

What I'm thinking is, once I complete a formal reformatting of the program, I'll also take it over to a crowdfunding platform like @fundition.

Accounting

I set up 2 accounts. While these accounts are not yet powerful enough to be useful at this point, the objective will be to use them to brand the event and also help keep project funds separate from my own until it's time to distribute it. I feel this is a lot more trustworthy and transparent a route — which will hopefully result in more funding to onboard with and develop / refine the campaign.


Volunteers

I'm very grateful for @paintingangels, @gussiefinknottle, @jazzresin and others who hung out with me during the event. Unfortunately, I didn't check the MSPWaves and SteemStarNetwork calendars first, so I didn't know the event clashed with two popular shows on Discord. Still, they were kind enough to keep checking on me and assisting with various things from promotion to answering questions.

Documentation

Lots of people ask me questions about how they can donate, how they can help, what's steemtipathon about, what's steem, etc. It's clear that I've not been concise or clear enough about all of these questions and topics. So my next step is to get down and dirty — and start writing everything down in a clear format.

Thank You

As always I want to thank @meno, @novacadian, and @gpalav for their support through their generous delegations. And to the members of @helpie, @asapers, and @smg for their camaraderie.

I'm just going to post this as is and go from here.

Sort:  

Well done @omitaylor! Keep kicking ass.

Kicking ass and taking names ♥️ Thank you as always for your support @rcarter. 🙏

Damn girl, you come up with SO MANY AMAZING WAYS to engage and support others. Wine is required when I read your posts. :) Keep being your sparkly-self-you! SMG blessed to have you! x

Thank you @artemislives and I am blessed to be with you all as well <3 :)

girl, i can only admire the enthusiasm you have starting on new stuff..

only so short on steemit and so much you have to share and try and do!!

Ej you made every rookie mistake in the book and so what. The show was probably fun, and people will remember you..

steem on madame!

Failure, mistakes, and losing is part of learning. Admission is part of self-acceptance and moving through those shitty feelings to get on to trying again. I'm at peace with it. Thank you. <3 I appreciate the recognition :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Thank you very much for making this audio version possible!

I would love to volunteer, i and my friends can help organise a campaign on steemit with numerous designs and banners. What do you think?

Who are you friends @kally? :)

The next event will be in June. I don't have a date set yet. When I have one, I'll let you know. My sister is working on some official branding and the campaign is already organized, although I'm open to any ideas you have that might improve it. Feel free to make a post about any ideas you have if you'd like an upvote about it, or comment ♥️ I'm sure there will be room for additional graphics and banners, in addition to the official ones.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

In a way it's more interesting to see it being pulled together in front us rather than presented fully-formed: shows people what's possible but also how much goes into something like this. I confess to being one of those who's not totally sure what it's all about, but that's my fault for not having got around to looking into it yet - you've given us the links. If it was no more than getting some Steemians together in real time, it would still serve a useful purpose. It'll all be like clockwork in June, I don't doubt.

I like Patreon for a similar reason, because it's behind the scenes. However, I've never really been able to keep my attention there enough as an artist. Perhaps it's just people have a limit on the number of platforms they manage. I think Steem and similar platforms are far better for doing projects. And I like the idea of showing others the ups and downs, and inspiring them to try stuff themselves (adapt ideas, etc.) Thanks for being a part of everything.

Yes, you like being the glue, you're good at being the glue, and Steemit needs glue. I will look further into this incentive before the next one.

Hahaha glue. Sheesh, someone else said that about me before. That is a bit spooky. Lol

I'm proud of you!

Thank you ♥️ 😆✊✨🎉 Lots of fun. ✨🎉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66254.46
ETH 3319.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69