One week in!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

So I've been on the platform for a week! Yay me!


Image credit

So far I've written about our amazing rhinos and the war that is waged on them every day, I've explained the fundamentals of freezing things, I wrote about the free education struggle South Africa finds itself in and finally about the legend of the Mapogo lion brothers.... three of these stories got voted for by @curie!

I've also read the most interesting articles, ranging from the way your brain generates rage from the sound of someone chewing ice to articles about living on Mars. I've spent most nights awake until the wee hours writing and researching and referencing. I've laughed myself silly at the conversations held in the comments section, I've spotted some whales and I've checked my wallet at times like 4 am, hoping to find that I've become an overnight millionaire (no such luck... yet)

As the bard once said, therein lies the rub...


Image credit

I still don't quite get where the money comes from, it still kind of feels like it's falling out of thin air... the way I've explained it to myself is that every time someone puts up a post, they are growing Steemit, like growing the actual business. And by doing that they are rewarded with what I see is basically shares in the business. And rewards are based on your input, i.e. writing great posts and sharing amazing pictures or whatever it is you put up.

Well that's how I explain it to myself for now, comments highlighting my naive misunderstaings will be appreciated.

Also, I learnt to make stuff bold and italic, or bold italic using * and _!

Amazing!


Image credit

So to sum it up, I'm having a blast, building and learning every hour, hoping to soon take over the world... mooohahahahaha.... I can even add pictures and videos and links using what looks like computer code language, and I feel like a programmer every time I do it... too much fun! I can only imagine what I might be capable 6 months from now! I've also decided that even if there was no reward, this is an amazing place to be, and my brain is loving being used properly for a change!

So here is to the next week, and the week after that! Did someone say tables using Markdown?

Thank you for tuning in, follow me @ollie7 for stories that will get better and better!

Sort:  

Congratulations @ollie7! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks for your good posts, I followed you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61451.56
ETH 3442.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51