Keep Your Money Safe With Posting Key

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

P1150699.JPG

Welcome Friends

It is somewhat of a sad day here in Steemitville as more and more people, including several friends that I know, have been hacked and lost money to scammers. So please forgive me for being a broken record, but there is no other way to keep getting the word out, than to be repetitive.


I used to put a line in every post saying to the effect of "only post with your posting key". I think I will start to do that again.


I was surprised that nearly every time someone did not know what their posting key was or the difference between the three keys.


I decided to make a video about the keys. Maybe I will try to incorporate it into a footer. Hopefully we can lower the number of victims that these scum prey upon.



POST WITH YOUR POSTING KEY ONLY!


Image2.jpg

To get your posting key go to wallet > permissions > posting key. You can do 95% of your Steemit business with just your posting key!!!! Be safe and watch the video!


Thanks for stopping by!

All words and images are mine and can be also found on my various social media sites.
Twitter
YouTube
Twenty20

footer.png


Be Safe!!

Post with your posting key!

If you don't know,

Watch the video>>>

Screenshot (106).png

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @old-guy-photos.

Looking forward to watching the video........appreciate you taking the time to do this.

All the best.

Cheers.

Thank you. Maybe we can save a few people from a bad experience.

Thank you! This post could save a lot of grief!

Tip!

Aww you are always so kind and generous. You always make my day, Sunshine :)

Thank you!

To me, because of what I tried to do for the new people here on steemit, this is a very serious issue. I put a warning at the bottom of every post that I do reminding people to secure their accounts. I also include in that reminder a couple of links to places that will help him to know and understand how to secure their account. And now I would like to thank you so much for doing this post. And I want you to know that I do think that you should put something in all of your posts to warn people and help to educate. It breaks my heart everytime I hear a story about somebody being hacked and or losing their money to phishing. We cannot let these few rotten apples destroy our barrel of beautiful healthy shiny apples. So thank you again for doing this post and for everything else that you do in our community. As always I send you and all of yours all of my love.

I know of two people who were hacked you are so right its really necessary ro remind people of the dangers.

Yes, it's really truly terrible. I am currently in the process of trying to help fill back up the reputation of somebody who I was introduced that was hacked. Every story is so sad, and so many people have lost so much. And I think the part that's the worst is that some of them may leave and not come back. 😞

@ johndoer123 Did your friend speak to @steemcleaners ? They can unflag the comments and he gets his reputation back. I know someone who did that and worked out. My account was hacked too some days ago and luckily recovered in the same day. I know how terrible it is :(

This is a very interesting piece of information. And because I was unaware that this could happen I have never asked him. However I am going right now to ask him about it. Is it okay if I refer him to you if he needs help? Thank you so much for letting me know this. It will help so much in the future if I run into anybody else who has had the same problem. I send all of my love to you. And thank you thank you thank you thank you!

Actually what happens is: Those hackers steal the accounts and use them to comment with their phishing links on other posts. I think thats what happened and some users or @steemcleaners flagges his comments. You need to check who flagged his comments and also better for him to write a post about what happened. That way everyone will understand that recovered his account.
In case @steemcleaners flagged his comments, he can contact them on Discord and explain everything.
Here is the link to their Discord channel https://discord.gg/nY6RHP

And if he needs help, he can contact me in Discord under the same name.
Hopefully everything works out for him :)

Thank you again for all of your help. I have forwarded your information to him. I really mean it thank you so much. Tell everybody there that I said I appreciate everything that they're doing and to keep up all of their good work.

After he recovered his account and edited all the phishing links out of the comment he should appeal in steemcleaners Discord (https://discord.gg/Uh9DpZW) so we can unflag him if the flagged comments is younger than seven days.
This will restore the whole reputation.

Greets Naturicia

Thank you so much for this information. I am going to talk to him right now and see if he knew anything about any of this to fix his reputation. This is very good information and I will be able to use it in the future when I run into anybody else who may have had the same problem. So again I thank you from the bottom of my heart. Hopefully I will see you around more and until we meet again I send you and all of yours all of my love.

Exactly I can see folks being so angry that they would have to go. Very sad.

Hi @old-guy-photos! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU is looking for SP delegators: pays out 100% of profit to all investors - more info here.

It's really very sad. Key backups are really a necessity that will help to correct the situation. You are absolutely right to raise this topic here. I believe that we need to constantly remind ourselves not to lose our vigilance. Stay safe with your keys and passwords

Yes, thank you.

Great words of wisdom. I've spent too much time explaining this to newbie friends and family. Thanks @old-guy-photos.

Exactly! I know what you mean 100%! There is a steep learning curve here.

It is really terrible and happened to me too some days ago. They stole many accounts in the same period and all the money was transfered to this account https://steemit.com/@angela-noel/transfers

From there they send the money to bittrex and everything is safe :( We need really to do something against this. As you see the last transaction was one hour before. That means they are still active.

Steemit must block such accounts and resend the stolen money to the real users. I didnt loose much, because I wanst having much in my wallet. But some users lost about 60 and 100SBD which is really sad. Some of them work weeks to collect that amount.

I am sorry it happened to you. I appreciate you sharing it with us. Hopefully it we keep repeating it, most of the people will hear and learn.

Yes hopefully :)

I agree we need to reiterate this and I just resteemed your post!

Thank you for that :)

yeah i didn't know about them 2 days before but after @uwelang post i do complete research over it.. and thanks you guyz are doing great job to aware newbies :)

Very good and spread the word. thanks.

Important reminder! Hope people read this and understand the importance. Maybe I'll put that at the end of my posts for a while too. Scammers, cheaters and the like.....not fans.

Yep it is part of the world which we share unfortunately. But knowledge is power and can help the community defend against them.

I forgot to put it on my post. Old lady brain in full working condition today. < sigh >

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57028.16
ETH 2358.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40