What Would Happen To Your Steem, Bitcoin and Alts If You Died Today????

in #steemit7 years ago

The statistics of death is; one out of one always dies. As a matter of facts, each passing day is a step closer to our graves. Some of us do not want to hear anything about death now. Most of us don’t want to die now. However, I believe %80 of dead people didn’t die because they wanted to die. Death usually takes us unawares. Since we are all going to die someday, it is always a wise decision to consider death in all our lives' activities. 

The thread “what would happen to your Btc and Alts if you died today” was shared on bitcointalk.org and I think it would be useful to share similar post here as well. Because from feedback there, it is obvious so many people who have cryptocurrencies are not thinking towards that direction. 


cryptocurrencies are real money


Have you ever thought about what would happen to all your possessions if you died?  It is also time to start thinking about what would happen to your Cryptocurrencies if you died because it is also a part of your possessions. 


I have accumulated some fractions of Bitcoin and a few Steem. I have never thought about what would happen to them if I died. If I died today, my entire cryptos would be missing. No one will be inherited, not because I have not tried to tell my family about it, but because they are not interested to know or have anything to do with it. 

I want to ask you this; Are you in the same situation as myself? Do you have a family member who has constantly shown no interest when you try to educate him/her on Cryptos? 

What is the next thing to do if no one close to you is interested in knowing about your activities with Cryptocurrencies? 


Possible solutions

Here is a solution someone posted on the thread. 

“I have all of my seed phrases, 2fa restoration numbers and passwords saved in Google Drive. Google, although I hate them, will be around forever. I have saved this in the cloud because if my house were to burn down, everything would be lost. Now I am not confident in the security of Google Drive so it is in a folder that is encrypted with Cryptomator. This is an open source program that works with both Drive and Dropbox” 

However, if you have relatives that have interest in learning about cryptocurrencies, then it is time to start teaching them more about it and giving them hints on access to your coins should anything happen to you. 

Since Cryptocurrency is a form of money and treasure we did some kind of work to earn, all the institutions hosting our coins should make a provision that will enable our loved ones have easy access/inheritance to it when we pass-away. 

It would be great if you drop a comment on how you have made provisions for your Cryptocurrencies to be inherited if you die as this might be helpful to someone out here.  

Of course, you are not going to die today. This is just a reminder of the inevitable.  Have A Great Weekend! 

Reference: bitcointalk.org

                                                      Thanks for Reading.  

If you think this post was helpful, please Promote, Resteem, Upvote and Follow.  

Sort:  

None of my family are interested, when I talk about it they switch off so I don't know what would happen when I die

Same issue with me. Thanks for your comment @karenb54

Its scary there's so much to do. @ogoowinner

I agree with @karenb54. It's really scary

I have been given loads of advice how to do it but it still scares me, I know I will mess up

My wife is the master.

That's a very wise Thing. Thanks for your contribution @hilarski.

In my case it is easy, @trevor.george got me in here, helps with my posts,and told me where to hide all the password stuff. If he forgets I can watch from on high and laugh at him. It is a very good thought though, a lot of potential money bei g lost is not good.

You're not allowed to die you old bugger!
You'll be Steeming on forever!

I get that. @trevor.george would be the one to inherit all of then lol! Thanks for the comment and humor @len.george

While in the RNZAF we worked out that if we could live to be 150 years old we would break the pention board. I am only half way there. By the time Trevor gets my, by then, millions of steem he will be to old to spend them

Lol! That's a funny comment. You don't even know who will die first.

Life is a bugger like that, get out of bed and wham you're gone. Stay in bed and drown.
What a choice, but 5 heart attacks later and I can still find the keys most of the time. Sometimes they move, you aim at one letter and when you go to press it, it has moved and something else is in its place.

Good post and something to think about.
I keep all info on all my online accounts from Email to crypto wallets on flash drive and a paper backup. I do not keep any of that information on line.

Good idea @chromiumone. however, is there anyone that knows about it?

Yes, two copies on flash drive.
My brother has one and a very good friend has the other, both are encrypted and pass worded with me holding the pass words and encryption keys. In the event that something happens to me the family lawyer will send the codes and keys to the flash drives to the holders.

ill save all my passwords and acccounts in my cellphone..and who ever is the first to access my accounts..he or she will be the lucky one to be the owner of all ofmy cryptos.Finders keepers..=)

Lol! that's a lucky bait. Thanks for the contribution @iamkunaning

None of my family are the least bit interested. Maybe we can name someone in the Steem community to pass on our value to in case we don't use our account for an extended period of time. (This person need not be publicly disclosed)

That's a great idea. There should be a provision for next of kin here. Thanks for the comment @lightsplasher

i just did,the lady from my Geo-location😍
The steems,bitcoins and Alts live on,they become part of the system!

My brother @oluwaleolaide, thanks for your comment.

You are most welcome

Very good point to make!

A note in the goldfilled safe.

Yo there's more.
Here are the things you need to know.

passwords
wallet recovery
....

Get a guy that has a clue about cryptocurrencies and leave him some coins over... ; )

Thanks for your comment @allyouneedtoknow

Interesting subject. Not sure there is a fool proof way to solve this - the biggest issue is how to make sure you non tech savvy family members can have access to these things after you are gone.

Thanks for your comment @thecryptofiend. That's a big issue we all need to find a solution to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63134.74
ETH 3052.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81