IS STEEMIT GIVING OUT 105.949 STEEM TO NEWBIES?

in #steemit7 years ago

fhlvxze.png

I saw this on a newbie's wallet. what exactly does it mean? Is steemit giving-out a whooping 105.949 to its new members? If it is so, then they are lucky, because I didn't get such bonus when I registered.

Sort:  

Hiya my friend :)

As I understand this, as of hardfork 18 new accounts only get about 10 steempower so Steemit, Inc. uses some of their many accounts to delegate Steem Power so these new accounts can have some influence from the start.

Account creation fee is set by the witnesses and that creation fee is what new accounts have when they are created. When I joined it was 10 steem. Not long ago it was 50 steem.

This is adjusted based on the market price of steem but in order to combat abuse new accounts now start with a very low amount of steem and have steem delegated to them via an official Steemit, Inc account.

This allows them to have a completely usable account while it also prevents them from simply cashing out and damaging the community.

Hope that helps...

Follow @steemitblog for official info from Steemit, Inc.

I recently joined and see that in my wallet, no idea where it came from. When I hover the mouse over it says its delegated STEEM to my account.

@jadelacruz, good you have confirmed it's true. But I'm yet to know exactly what it means.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@steevc/question-are-new-accounts-getting-delegated-some-sp

From what I could read its a way to lower the cost of creating new accounts, I would expect that delegated STEEM to disappear after a couple of weeks.

You think so? lets just watch and see. I hope You'll update me on what happens to it some weeks later @jadelacruz.

same for me

Borrowed!
How did you create your account?

Do not think so, that would be whopping gain!

I saw it on a guy's wallet who did his introduction. @azfix, you can check it too.

Looks more like delegated steem power

So it means they have 105.949 Steem Power immediately they sign up?

It means they have the power for voting, but if you look at the account value it is not included in the value. Its just a way of letting them borrow steem power for the amount of time delegated by the other account.

OK. Thanks for the explanation @azfix. I would have been jealous of them (smiles), but at the same time, happy for them as well.

Yes, same here with @detlev
I joined 2 weeks ago and I saw this in my wallet as well.

welcome to steemit @detlev

thanks, looks quite cool here.
any advice for newbies but internet oldies?

yea. steemit is a community with very kind people. Just try to make friend by commenting on other people's posts.

done....

and please enjoy my posts as well - As being a book author, I like to write and post...

Ok. I'll go through them. Steem On!!

What does it mean exactly? On my acc as well

@frostedace, I'm yet to have the right answer to that for now. I'll update you on it when I understand it better.

I recently join and got this as well. When I tried to do anything with it a message pops up and says "Account requires 10x the account creation fee in Steem Power (approximately 300 SP) before it can power down".

Ok. Thanks for the info @stuberry

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49