The Whales-No-Up-Voting Experiment: some curious questions

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

An experiment. I like experiments, I really do. I'm also curious. So, out of curiosity:

  • What is the hypothesis being tested?
  • What data is being collected to test that hypothesis?
  • Will there be side-effects, like reputation damage, changes in posting behaviour, posts becoming hidden, general annoyance, etc. and is somebody considering those?
  • Will downvoting to compensate for whale votes yield the same results as all the whales' not voting?
  • Will bots following, or trying to predict, whale votes skew the results?
  • Will something be done with the results of the experiment?
  • Will the results of the experiment still be valid after the change of the reward curve?

Sort:  

@ocrdu good questions but who's answering you?
you're going to get flagged hahaha soon .. :P

okay .. just kidding - you're not the only one who takes yourself "not so seriously"

as for the "good" questions they really are ..
I hope you get answers ;)

I'm just looking for a flag for making too much money 8-).

And no answers yet. But then, nobody owes me answers.

It's mostly hurting small users, because the only people who vote are the whales and those who stream behind a trusted manual user (or uses @biophil's bot to find good content). And anything those people vote for is getting auto-flagged.

That leaves the dross to stay un-flagged - so far, the trending page looks a lot worse than it did in the past in terms of quality...

I'm also an engineer! and I tell you that prove nothing ....

You may well be right.

For clarity: I use that picture to mock myself a bit, hence the duct tape. It prevents me from taking myself too seriously 8-). It's an ironic joke, really.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 13. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $1.77 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 13 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I'm going to post a little less this week and observe more. This is interesting. I hope this experiment doesn't upset too many users.

It certainly is interesting, and I truly like experiments, I wasn't being cynical.

But if this experiment is only done to get "a general idea" of "something half-defined" without serving some purpose in a future implementation of curation, it isn't worth the discord it seems to create. I hope it is a solid experiment.

I prefer to trust Dan, Ned, and their staff to do what's necessary to evolve Steemit. Steemit in itself is an experiment and they're working on it.

Oh, certainly. They of all people have the most to lose, so I am certain they are doing everything in their power to make Steemit a success. I can't imagine the hard work and long hours their job would entail.

I absolutely agree. Steemit is a brilliant idea and those brilliant minds that created it have impressed me enough to believe in them and what they're doing. I think all we need is patience.

Very good questions @ocrdu
The damage to the psyche is palpable and I am wondering what this experiment will yield -- or how long it's going to last.

Six months ago! They didn't hurry to pick up your idea 8-). If it is an experiment worth doing, it is an experiment worth doing well.

I know. The seeds of destruction have been visisible since august. 1) The distribution of steem power 2) the steep reward curve 3) the focus on authors instead of ideas (like reddit) authors encourage rich get richer and topics encourage you to find new blood. 4) reward skewed to people who post but don't put anything in instead of curator who put money in.

They are so close to a great platform but don't seem to take necessary steps.

Yes, maybe an experiment where peoples reactions are tested.
Some conspiration-theory: this was created by the background forces. (do not take it seriously, only a joke :D )

I blame Hawaiian Pizza.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63989.15
ETH 2749.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66