Sort:  

Can Steem support smart contracts? Would there be some way of streamlining this whole process? I see there will be a need for it.

I don't have any answers for you. Sorry. I'm still getting a feel for this place, myself.

I just know that Steemitchat goes down, sometimes for days. So it doesn't seem like the most reliable way to go.

Appreciate your comment very much. We are going to include Discord as a second option for when steemit.chat is down

Why do you feel steemit.chat to be risky?

Steemit.chat lost my account one time. I was able to use the same email and create another one tho. I am still trying to figure out how to use it properly.
EDIT: The password recovery thing never sent me the email. But I could have been user error.

It crashed hard and was unavailable for several days not terribly long ago. It's also had hiccups and long crashes since.

So if Steemitchat goes down, it renders the shop unusable for however many hours/days it's down.

It would probably be safer to use a Discord server for it. And you can get bots to work there, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.03
ETH 3421.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63