You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Taking Your Foot Off The Lion's Neck

in #steemit7 years ago

How old is your daughter? As a single father of a 23 year old daughter, I both feel your drain and advise you to enjoy every minute of it. Up until my daughter was eight years old, I could do no wrong. She had me on a pedestal. Then at the age of eight, when her natural changes began and she started Junior Highschool, she began to become closer to her mother and pull away from me. This is the nature of psychology. Children at some point begin to relate more with the parent of the same gender, regardless of which is more attentive. I raised her as a single father beginning when she was 1 1/2 years old. Her fulltime home was with her mother and even though we were not in a relationship, we both worked together well as friends to raise her equally. Now that she is grown and the natural evolution if things have drawn us apart, I am proud of my contribution to her growth. I tell you this story because, sometimes people can lose sight of the positives when life wear's you out. There will be that day where you and your daughter do not communicate on a daily basis and time moves more quickly toward the future in reality, than it does in your ponderings. I can tell by your attentive generosity here on SteemIt that you are also a good parent. Parenting is the most noble action our species can strive towards and we can only hope to raise our children to become better than ourselves and hopefully raise them to dig deep into themselves to be empaths, instead of the apathetic, which plagues our species today. Your upvotes are not important, but your interaction is necessary, my friend. Do not run yourself ragged, because your health and daughter are more important. I wish you many nights of restful sleep and that all your days and your daughter's as well, be full of joy, brother.

Sort:  

My girl is almost 10 months now. I really enjoy the time we spend together. The hardest part is that I'm with here for about 6 hours with her and then I spend about 6 hours working on Steemit/creative stuff. All that on top of all my other things I do to improve my health. It's difficult for sure so I have to make some tweak to make sure I'm getting adequate rest. Thanks for your advice.

Ah a really young one. It's getting close to first steps. Yes, the first two years are the hardest. After that they learn to walk, talk and use the bathroom by themselves and it gets a lot easier until High School.

That's what I've heard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59106.19
ETH 2538.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37