You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: About Author Etiquette and Forced Votes

in #steemit8 years ago

I do up-vote comments on my post. I believe it will also help me build a following while also being polite. But that's my way and I do appreciate your views on this.

Sort:  

I up vote a lot of comments on mine as well. Yet I talk a lot, so if I up voted all the dialog I have I'd have an extremely low voter % and power and not be able to up vote blog posts effectively. So people commenting and simply saying "Nice post" or something simple I don't always up vote unless I haven't been doing a lot of voting that day then I will up vote even those. I do at least try to remember to respond and say thanks. Though sometimes I forget.

That's interesting Norbu. Do you upvote all the comments that are made? Regardless of what they say?

Yes I do!

EDIT: unless I know it is a bot or known spammer!

Interesting. Can I ask what your logic is behind that? Do you feel it's 'good manners' to upvote comments? A way to reward people who left a comment?

I have always felt building a community shall be crucial for the success of steemit and that everyone will have a sub-community for himself (followers) over time. To build followers some work shall have to be done, and I start with being polite, which is how I look at an up-vote for someone who has taken the time to read and comment on my post. I do not see it as a reward to entice similar participation in later posts, but to interact, have a conversation and just be polite.

Refreshing to see your point of view on this. I don't associate upvotes with being polite though, but I can see where you are coming from. I'd rather leave a reply to a comment than to upvote. I find that is a much higher show of respect and appreciation. After all, voting power is limited and finite, commenting isn't.

Well we have our opinion's :)) I don't see any reward in an up-vote which gives SD 0.03., it's more symbolic for me as an acknowledgement and appreciation for the commentor who has taken time and indulged in my work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71