Random Rambles #06: My Quest for "Good" Content, and Four Months on Steemit!

in #steemit8 years ago

Having burned my fingers earlier dabbling in shit-coins, I waited till steemit made their first payout on the 4th of July, 2016, and announced the beta site to the world. I opened my account the next day, the 5th of July, so today marks my four months on steemit, and my entry to a platform which turned out to be the freshest breath I have taken in a long while!

Since I joined, I have seen a lot of changes, heard dramatic personal outpourings from a varied lot, learnt about make-up, learnt about the block-chain and have been glued to the laptop like I had never ever before.

But the one common demand by everyone, which seems to have persisted till now, has been the calls for "good" content. So, I made that my quest too, and here, I share my observations regarding that during these fun four months.


[Photo Credit]


So what is "good" content?

There was a time when I used to cringe when I visited the trending page on steemit. That was because of two things.

  1. I had let my viewpoint get clouded by the cacophony of calls for "good" content, and had become judgmental.
  2. Besides the deluge of ubiquitous posts related to steemit, the trending page itself was full of posts with silly content but with high payouts, whilst mine were drowning. I was disappointed and angry.

This got me into a situation where my dismay clouded my reasoning to a very basic fact, and should have been obvious in the first place.

Good content is basically the stuff I enjoyed, and liked, when I read them!

I had let myself get all worked up about this to a point when I had stopped producing content myself. I had let common opinion cloud my personal taste, and had let the "tribe" lead me towards a place I did not want to be.

Till I realized that the one thing which makes me unique in this world is the way I think and look at life, and if I am to be guided to even change my likes, then that would not be healthy for me. And so I began my new chapter on steemit with a fresh approach to the content.

It has been great since then

I now don't care! I go for posts I like, click-bait titles or not, and vote for anything I feel deserves a vote. I have no more quarrels with some posts which earn a huge sum, because if a post goes viral, someone must be liking it!

And if it is good for anyone, it is OK for me too.

Just that I may not vote for it. And thats OK. Getting yourself worked up over what other people seem to like, even though you disapprove, can only harm your creativity. And as the site grows we should expect crazier content to come along, but the existing features are enough to control your feed and to follow who you want without anyone having to resort to violence of the flagging type.

So now, I keep churning out content without regard to anything, as I know there are enough people who like what I have to say, and that would be the way steemit can prosper.


If you like my work, please up-vote and read more at @norbu.
You may also click the down-arrow next to my name (before my reputation score below) to follow me.
Or you may just re-steem to share the love! 😊


Sort:  

I couldn't agree with this more. I just vote what I like and post what I like. Its quite liberating!!!

Exactly the point of steemit! Thank you.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Yup!

Love & Peace & Freedom

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60805.28
ETH 2912.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59