Every User Should Try Out the New Steemit Test/Preview Site. It Works, But You Cannot Post Pictures, Yet!

in #steemit7 years ago

Got to see a post by @dantheman regarding the introduction of new features, in a test site at https://test.steemit.com/

As with most of you, I too have been waiting to see more features which will make steemit more like a social media platform rather than the blogging platform it has become. User engagement is paramount if we are to take this forward, and the few changes I noticed are welcome!

So I drove straight in and logged in (with my posting keys, of course) to the test site and have written this post using the new editor on there!

And the first thing I noticed, a welcome one at that, was the ugly red blotch on my profile pic which informed me of the notifications I have received! Yay! Now it seems you will be notified onsite and you shall no longer have to stab the F5 key like a maniac. Great and about time!

And the other thing I noticed was the clean editor. The dev himself has compared it to the one on Medium by referring to it as a "medium style editor", and it looks simpler which non-technical users should find very inviting.

I am now almost fully using the test/preview site and shall do so till I find the other changes which have been incorporated. But I happy that something is done behind the screen to improve user experience, especially after the long gap in communication from the leaders.

I also see this coming at an opportune time when the value of steem seems to be picking up after almost a free-fall, and a noticeable addition of new features should halt the feeling of despair. Steemit has a long way to go and I am in for the long haul, and I hope the good days of steemit will start with this!

PS: You cannot add pictures using the new editor, as yet! So I have none on this post :)

Sort:  

Thanks for the heads-up @norbu. I'm off the check it out!

Yes, do check it out. The changes may be few but they are exciting! Thanks!

Can I login with the same Id and password?

Yes you can, but make sure you use your posting keys for security.

Why I need posting keys to login there

Aha, before you proceed, I would recommend that you familiarize yourself with the intricacies of the "Keys" on steemit if you want to be secure. There are a lot of posts regarding that, which you can access by using the search box on top!

Learn about how to be secure and safe, passwords on steemit are different, and you should be aware to avoid heartbreaks later.

Hello!

  1. Resteemed this post.
  2. Reply with " Resteemed " with your answer on that post by @steemitfaucet. CLICK HERE

You will get 0.06 STEEM within the next 1 hour.

Ok, will check it out.

Edit: But I cannot resteem my own post! The button is not there!

resteemed

Hi @norbu
0.06 Steem was sent to you.

Thanks! This is interesting, I just made 0.06 steem!

Replying here as I cannot below

Resteemed this post.
Reply with " Resteemed " with your answer on that post by @steemitfaucet. CLICK HERE
You will get 0.06 STEEM within the next 1 hour.

Great post. I upvoted and followed you.

Thanks, followed you back as well!

I could not view the horizontal editing icon in chrome. Firefox and ie could not load the site.

Just tried it and the same is happening to me! I no longer see the editing icons. I guess work is going on at the backend after all it is a test site :))

Yeah right. I can now load the site using firefox but we need to load steemit.com first and change the address to test.steemit.com

All's good, I guess, as long as you can access the site!:))

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34