Steemit a victim of its own success?! Signups are CLOSED

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Steemit - overcrowded with users?

Steemit today shuttered its doors to new users in response to the rapid growth the community has experienced over the last week. At the time of writing, if you try to sign up for a new account you will be greeted with an option to receive an email once signups are open again. What does this mean for the users already in the door? I can't imagine it's anything bad!

The full text of the message when trying to sign up is:

"Signups are currently paused due to our unexpectedly high sign up rate. Submit your email to the waiting list to be notified when signups are re-opened."

#steemit #steem #news #internet #cryptocurrency

Sort:  

You think these temporary holds might be due to the account refunding and fixes they are pushing out? Perhaps they are just making sure the books are balanced before they move forward and further complicate the situation. Just a thought, would love to know which is the case though!

That would make sense. Just to get everything inline. It looks like some other accounts are getting hacked as we speak. This chicks post that made mad cash about hiking looks like it got hacked and the funds have been pulled out. https://steemit.com/hiking/@katecloud/what-i-m-taking-to-survie-a-6-month-hiking-trip

Yeah. I dunno what happened there. I tried to contact the account to get some kind of verification, but I think it's still hacked. I posted a bit about it here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@noodhoog/what-the-hell-just-happened-to-katecloud-s-hiking-post

Anyone have any intel on how long this hold is planned to stay? I have a few friends i got interested and when i tried helping them sign up we got this very dis-hearting news.

Thanks for bringing the news to me.

Wow! I just checked and you are right! new accounts are turned off!

I didn't know nothing about that, there will be answered on slack
https://steem.slack.com/messages/help/

I'm not following the slack, was there anything new about this? I would guess it has to do with new signups getting a high degree of initial security or something (?) rather than site load.

TBH it's probably a good thing. I've noticed the site slowing down a bit today, and people want anything exclusive. Tell people they can't get in, and suddenly they'll be banging the door down even if they weren't interested previously :)

They are just controlling the flow

I really thought about it. Anyway they will do something about their website band width.I believe Steemit engineers working on it

Upvoted, why not

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61536.69
ETH 3445.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50