Steemit Is Not Beginner Friendly, But It Can BesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

Hallo Steemit! I was planning on writing an article about some more science stuff but I just want to address this today.

Since returning to Steemit I've been checking out a number of Steem based websites, from the video site DTube to the meme site DMania (which by the way makes me look like a perv whenever I try to share the wonders of Steem with my friends lol). So anyways I've been checking them out and I noticed a huge lack of non-crypto related stuff. Like if I'm trying to find gaming videos or educational videos that aren't related to crypto, I have to really dig for them. Let's pretend for a second that I'm a brand new Steem user, eager to explore this wondrous new blockchain I'd heard of. I think that cryptocurrency is cool, but I'm not utterly obsessed with it. So I go to check out DTube to watch something and...

DTube front page

almost everything on the page is cryptocurrency related. Immediately I may feel like I'm not wanted or the site is just too obsessed with one thing and get turned off by it. This is a pretty specific example, but this is exactly what happened to a friend of mine I coaxed onto the site. Now don't get me wrong, crypto is absolutely amazing and informing people about it is terribly important, but my god it's so hard to find content not about it these days. Now I have to be honest, Steemit's trending page makes it pretty easy to find non-crypto content by diversifying the tags they use.

Steemit Trending Page
Still though, I feel like this could change. I understand, some people made their living off of writing Cryptocurrency based content and that's alright. I'm not trying to stop you, it's your life. But if you're a new Steemian or maybe you're just looking to write some more content for your audience, try mixing it up a little. You know that short story you've always been wanting to write, start up on it. Do you have a collection of quotes but don't know people to share it with, post one every once in a while. Love playing video games but know that YouTube is oversaturated with videos, post them here. The point is that cryptocurrency doesn't have to be the dominating topic here on Steem. A lush garden of different types of content can exist. If we as a platform are to attract new people to the site, making more diverse content might be in the best interest of everyone :)

Sort:  

Congratulations @ninja25538! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ commemorative badge refactored

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76