You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dao hackers still at large, hackers now targeting Steemit community?, could this be the same hackers? Steemit developers have some security issues to improve

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Wow, very misleading headline and probably a good example of the kind of content creation that should be discouraged around here. You've provided no evidence or link that it is even remotely the same person as the DAO attack - it's pretty much a click-bait title.

There's some useful information in there but I think you've given an example of what I fear this place will become - Buzzfeed on steroids - no real quality content just sensationalism in order to pump up one's earnings.

Sort:  

It did say it is possible that it could have been the Dao hackers I didn't say it was for sure them that did it. Sorry if you thought it was misleading. I am still new to the Steemit community. I don't want anybody to be mad. I was just trying to get word out to Steemit developers that they need to revamp security and come up with some better measures to protect against future attacks. I am not a cyber criminal detective so the only way I could have concrete evidence is with digital signatures pointing to exactly who it was. It does raise a good question though it could have been the Dao hackers they still have not been caught from what I have heard so they are still out there maybe hacking away.

Sure it could be them, but it COULD BE ANYONE... but what you've done here is deliberately make an implication that it was the DAO hacker by posing it as a question. This is called Betteridge's Law of Headlines and it is a very sloppy and disingenuous journalism tactic:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Betteridge%27s_law_of_headlines

For example, I could write a headline as the following: "Could @acassity be the Steem hacker?"

Of course, I have absolutely zero evidence of this but you could be the hacker right? Hopefully this illustrates the point about this style of headline writing to be very misleading.

For all we know it could be the same hackers that hacked Target and stole millions of credit card numbers. Only cyber criminal investigators can know for sure and I hope this gets investigated properly and security measures put into place to stop future attacks.

I did update the title I don't want anyone to think this is misleading.

Ugh, I think you've made it even worse.

Sorry you feel that way. You are supposed to make your headlines stand out or else they get lost and no curration is rewarded for your work. Read the white paper https://steemit.com/steem/@liondani/steem-whitepaper-download what you are doing is the crab bucket mentality it describes in the white paper. You are saying just because I make a good headline that I should not be rewarded for my work? I saw you marked my post as spam. It says specifically in the white paper not to have the crab bucket mentality. I still worked hard on this post so if you don't like it there is nothing I can do. Sorry for not making up to your standards. All this came from my mouth and work go mark someone else's post as spam someone who actually cheated the system and is using plagiarism material.

I think this is one of the fundamental problems of this platform, it incentives people to create sensational headlines at the expense of integrity and objective writing.

You are saying just because I make a good headline that I should not be rewarded for my work?

No, he's saying not only is the headline not good, but potentially harmfully, so is the post.

Steemit just announced today that they will be implementing some security features that I went over in the article.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60893.72
ETH 2624.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56