You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Nice tips. Some more:
Something that you aren't including in your calculation is bandwidth. Your bandwidth is limited and grows as your SP grows. The more you comment, follow or resteem, the more you eat into bandwidth, which is a good thing, as it limits spammy behaviour. I have followed new people who looked interesting but then had to unfollow them as they clogged my feed with endless posts, memes and resteeems. Don't do it. Check your available bandwidth and voting power at steemd.com
Post once or twice a day and limit your resteems. Make it count.
Vote 10 times a day at most.
Don't go and link your post in the comments on other people's posts, it's annoying and guaranteed to get you ignored. You may get away with it if your post is related but you can earn yourself a flag doing shit like that too often.

People with voting power will upvote your comments and it will earn you something, if they consider your comments interesting. Have the manners to upvote a post before you comment: even if it's not worth much, it is appreciated. Minnow votes, views and meaningful comments are every bit as valuable as the $$ votes that the bigger fish can give. Commenting everywhere in the hope of earning a bit but never upvoting the posts that you comment will get you a nuisance tag in many people's minds.
From the incomparable @meesterboom:

Sort:  

@nikv. This is excellent advice to merge into the blog above. Pity I came across it too late vor my vote to be worth anything to you, otherwise it would have been a big upvote. Please consider re-writing this comment as a full blog.

If I wrote it as a full post, it would simply disappear, unless I spent a lot of time linking it as @steemladder has, so this particular comment does the most good here, I think. Thank you for the offer, though. If you still want to upvote this you could always just upvote this comment, it will still pay out

Upvoted $28

Wow! Much appreciated, thank you

thanks for your help too @nikv... At one point, I know I would have accidentally commented and not upvoted on someone's post, not realizing how annoying/detrimental that is. Good looking out. and for the record, I am trying to be a merman lol those exist on steemit right?

Why a merman? One other bit of advice, don't vote on posts that are more than 7 days old. The payout window has closed and you are just wasting your vote

Thanks for the heads up. I've been wasting my vote a lot. Slow learner but I'll get the hang of it. As for the merman just something exotic amongst the crowded sea of minos and whales

wow. So much good advice in here! Ive watched about 10 YouTube videos and read a dozen articles and never got anything like I'm reading in these comments

I still don't get it lol

@nikv Please do enlighten me with your advice. i am new to this community. how can i message you and ask for guidance? Thank you and God bless

I don't always have time to answer messages so I recommend that you join steem.chat, there are many people there who can give good advice

thanks for the tips. Am new here and I believe this will be helpful

I don't understand anything about this shit hahahaha.

Thanks for the inputs @nikv. Those are some great inputs for those who have joined the platform recently. I have updated my post about the bandwidth restrictions.

steemladder, just took your advice and followed you. Thanks for the tips!!!

Good guys, thank you so much @steemladder @nikv

As a newbie thank you. It's taking a moment to understand the protocol.

the only thing I don't understand is why there is no delete account option in this steemit........ Am nor a quitter buh steemit is wasting my energy.........

this deserve to get a higher upvote. thank you for explaining this important piece.

I have been wondering about bandwidth, resteems, how much to upvote etc and this comment has clarified things for me. Thanks you so much. It seems that quality and not quantity is the key. I have limited time to spend on steemit and so I must try to make what I do count.

You are on the right track! One other word of advice, now that this post is old: don't upvote posts that are older than 7 days, they no longer pay out anything and it would be better to save your votes for something you can get curation rewards on. This is most important for you to grow as a minnow.
And, don't vote on the trending page, vote on things that you like and build relationships with the people whose work you like

Ah, great, thanks for the steer)) I am learning all the time.

hhahahahaha.

you are a great resource, @nikv ! never even thought about bandwidth, and I like the limits youve implemented.

Steemit can be tricky to negotiate in the beginning and bandwidth and voting power are more arcane, but important features to know about

This alone made my day
I will kindly follow the rules it'gives me a better understanding about steemit
Thank you

Thank you for this input. I am a fresh minnow and any advice is wonderful. I wish I had done my due diligence and not used up all my voting power my first day. My percentage dropped below 60%. Yikes! Now I have another 29 hours to go before it’s full again. How many resteems should I limit myself to?

Everyone makes that mistake until they read the Steemit FAQ, so don't feel alone.

One or two resteems a day is ok. Consider that if you resteem too much, your followers are not going to be able to notice your posts in among all the resteems so you are shooting yourself in the foot by resteeming a lot.

Alright. That makes sense. Thanks again for taking the time to help out, it is much appreciated!

It's really exciting to be a part of this community at such an early stage! I look forward to helping us grow into a spam-free, awesome community.

Be the change you want to see ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50