You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Bane of Bidbots ... An Intelligent & Civil Discourse

in #steemit6 years ago

That helped pass the time given that I woke up in the middle of the night. I whole heartedly agree with everything you said in your comments. The bid bots and manipulation of trending page for personal gain of those owning 85% of the rewards pool is disgusting.

I still check those pages just out of interest to see how much further this platform is killing itself.

I am not a technical coder and come at it from a usability perspective and the bots are not helping. As a creative person, you want to see a community, interaction with members and comments from real people.

You scroll down to the comments section and what do you see? "your post has received a 50% from bot x"... Times 10 (and the rest).

If the #powerhousecreatives didn't enforce supporting on here then I am not sure I would stay.

OK so that's the negatives, now to try and counter balance with the positives (yes there are some).

I wouldn't have met you if it wasn't for this platform, or any of the talented content creators I consider friends on this platform. I have met more drum and bass heads here than I did on Facebook and that's awesome in itself.

Albeit that the payouts are pants for content creators, it's still something and that is more than what I got on FB, which actually cost me money (I spent money on ads).

The fact that there are a lot of cool dapps out there to play around with shows that people are still willing to invest in the blockchain, even with all its issues.

So there's my 420am thoughts. Now to try and get back to sleep!

Nicky

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

@nickyhavey,

As usual, an thoughtful and well-articulated comment.

OK so that's the negatives, now to try and counter balance with the positives (yes there are some).

And there's the rub. The number of positives on Steemit, in spite of the negatives, is astonishing. And, it is the reason I continue to tilt at windmills. All of us can intuitively feel what this place could be. If one were inclined towards sentimentality, one might even say that the blockchain rises to the level of a noble endeavor.

But make no mistake, a teaspoon of arsenic once a day is enough to kill anyone or anything. Men of good conscience must rally together and insist upon reform because the toxic elements will, sooner or later, prove a fatal flaw.

BTW, has there been any improvement in how Jolly Ol' England is handling its 5-cm-of-snow-crisis? (As a Canadian, I'm having a hard time letting that go). :-)

Quill

For me, it was the first platform I came to in the crypto world that opened my eyes and made me want to get more involved with blogging (another positive). It is one step in the right direction but the steps back (from what we mentioned in the negatives) are more like giant double back flips with half-pike taking us to a place that was so far behind the first step in the right direction, we can barely see it!

Are you in the new Discord server (Steem Alliance or Steem Reform)? Think you'd do well to rip in to them about the bid bots there.

As for the great "Snow-gate" scandal of Jan 2019, I'm a survivor thank GOODNESS! It's over! Medals of Honour to be dished out to those who made it through one of the toughest ordeals since a dustbin was blown over in the street and had it's lid tortuously damaged 3 weeks ago in a "strong wind". I can share these tales of terror and bravery to my grandchildren if I fall in to the trap of getting married (which I won't) and have kids (which I won't) :)

Nicky

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56095.11
ETH 2533.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23