The Generosity of the Steemit Community

in #steemit7 years ago

Ever since joining the Steemit community around August last year, I have been the recipient of numerous acts of generosity from other Steemians. And one incident yesterday in particular has prompted me to write this.

After posting about the birth of my daughter last week. A goodfriend who I've gotten to know on Steemit, @deanliu commented on my post. I didn't realize at the time, but when I checked my wallet, I saw that he had sent me 50 SBD as a gift for the birth of my daughter! I was speechless when I saw that, as it was incredibly generous. Thank you Dean!

IMG_1570.JPG

This got me thinking about all the other acts of generosity that I've experienced from the Steemit community:

  • The time when @hanshotfirst transferred me a portion of his winnings from one of the NFL contests run by Ats-David, because he wanted to share his winnings with the runner up. Thank you @hanshotfirst.
  • All the Steemit witnesses who I've interviewed for giving their time to answer my questions for my Witness Files series, and also @papa-pepper and @anotherjoe for my Up Close and Personal series.
  • @ausbitbank for always leaving encouraging comments on my posts.
  • @aizensou forall the support he gave me when I first started off.
  • @williambanks for all the generosity he has shown me and others with VIVA

And one incident a while back which really captures this spirit of generosity among the Steem community can be seen in this post, where @liondani gave up his witness spot to @furion. In @furion's own words, "@liondani had unvoted himself, and voted me in, essentially giving me his witness slot."

During the times when Steem prices was in a constant decline, it was this wonderful community that made it all worthwhile.

To say thanks to those who have been so generous towards me in my time on Steemit so far, all the liquid rewards from this post will be given away to those who have blessed and supported me.


Follow me @nextgen622

Sort:  

Oops!! Can't believe I missed this post! And missed the upvote time window ... That explains the 10 SBD from you today ... Just to be clear, 50 SBD belongs to the little princess, NOT a gift to you ... Do not subtract 10 SBD from the total amount either... LOL

I like this kind of Steemit as well. 10*10=100 10+10=20... not 10/10=1 and 10-10=0 ... Haha... Have a good weekend, my friend!!

Haha. Thanks mate. Yep, noted, definitely set aside the 50 SBD from uncle Dean for the princess. Maybe I'll open up a new Steem account for her. :) :)

Great idea! like little peppers!

This is what I love about the Steemit community :)

This post is so honestly and beautifully written... Life is beautiful!

There's this unspeakable joy that comes with giving, and I'm glad some members of this great community are imbibing this spirit.
Your post really inspired me.
Upvoted and following.

That's amazing to know that we have so many generous members here! Frankly speaking I thought most of the members are here just for profits and profits only, but your article shows me the quite opposite trend. Thanks for sharing this post with us.

Maybe that is the case with some, but those of us who have been through the lows of Steem, will know that there is more to profits. It's the community that really keeps us going.

Same in my chess match. The front runners all agreed to share the winnings amongst all the players.
Good people here. Really thoroughly good people.

That is awesome - lovely community! Congrats to your family event!

The steemit community is all about spreading love and giving back to people. Your daughter looks adorable!

Thank you very much. :)

You're a blessing to the community nextgen! Thanks for all you do.

:) Thank you for sharing :) it's great to hear the story and congratulations to you and your family :) we have seen many noble deeds, even abit when he was holding the first witness spot did the same for liondani i believe he gave his spot to him I think to make up for the bad "experiment" vibe or just to show his character :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63463.10
ETH 3243.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45