You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HF 19: self voting ahoy!

in #steemit7 years ago

Hmm, that's a really tough question and there is no easy, cut and dried answer, like most other voting in Steemit, this is subjective proof of work.

Certainly the two extremes: never voting yourself and always voting yourself sound wrong to me. It's ok to vote yourself sometimes, as long as you don't do it too much, too often, or too high value.

I vote myself when:

  • I want visibility, to get my comment to float to the top, because I think it's really important
  • I want to speak with authority, like if I'm flagging someone for spam and explaining why.
  • And yea, i'll totally admit, sometimes I just want a few extra pennies from the system

The situation I describe above in my post just felt wrong to me. If kingscrown had voted himself 7$ and nnnhhh 7$, I would have been fine with that.

Sort:  

Great answer, and from a really honest place. I knew there wasn't (1) answer, so we are all just figuring this out. (I do the same)

I enjoy the conversation around it. I am getting close to the place where I need to define this for myself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62848.40
ETH 2467.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63