You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curation from Two Perspectives: The Curator + The Curated | Steemit Beginner's Series

in #steemit6 years ago

Hi @ameliabartlett, some very good and important information for all steemians to consider especially given that by definition we are all curators! Upvoting is curating whether seen that way or not, and it's a GREAT idea to develop one's own criteria for voting rather than shooting from the hip. Once I did this, I found I felt like my votes were put to much better use and I was able to spread my voting power to support more contributors and squandered it less frequently.

My favorite moment in this post is the photo with the caption:
What each of us generally looks like when we've discovered an undervalued, undiscovered bit of blockchain excellence.
:-))
ps. thanks for the tip about Unsplash - I didn't know about this nor the pitfalls of pixabay, gracias!

Sort:  

One more thought - I believe it's important to also develop a criteria and strategy for resteems! Too many or the wrong kind is a really quick way to be unfollowed. I for one, can't stand my feed filled up with subpar quality resteems which as you say really reflects on the curator.

Wonderful point, @natureofbeing! I swear, the best discussions happen in the comments. ☺️ I agree with you that curation starts with upvotes (and not particularly with resteems, though I feel like plenty of newbies [including me] over-resteem in the beginning). What gets me about upvotes though is how powerless and impact-less I feel as a minnow, dropping a .002 upvote on someone. That may be why I've tried to compensate by joining curation initiatives, supporting curation trails/organizations, and ideally sending more reward their way.

But - as someone whose upvote is worth a bit more than my minnow-vote, do you notice you vote differently/feel differently about your upvoting practices?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65