Nathens Got a Brand New Slider......

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

So, today something wonderfully bizarre happened. I passed a comment on a post about leasing Steem and helping minnows by @furious-one which I didn't if I'm honest fully understand as I'm a bit thick at times, have a read here:

https://steemit.com/minnowbooster/@furious-one/investors-step-up-in-2018-and-delegate-your-steem-power-to-communities-and-minnows

when another of these wonderful people I keep tripping over recently called @reggaemuffin who I think is some important bod at that @minnowbooster thingy said, in an almost Star Wars kind of voice,

"Here are 500 Steemy powers, go forth, educate and encourage those little minnows, use the slider Luke".

I was just about to point out my name is Nathen and not Luke, when the steemy powers appeared in my wallet and I began dancing around shaking my slightly saggy 51-year-old arse in glee....

........right until the point I started seriously thinking of the best way to help and encourage all these new members to post something meaningful and interesting to others instead of just begging for a follow.

Now I know others are out there flagging and berating, but I'm not going to do that. What I'm going to do when I come across one of the 'very informative post' or 'please follow me' brigade is to offer them a challenge....

I will firstly point them to a great article that all new members should be forced to read

https://steemit.com/steemitguide/@maverickinvictus/90-days-in-steemit-and-all-the-things-that-i-learned-or-part-1

by @maverickinvictus and them ask them to write me 300+ words with 2 original pics about ANY subject they are passionate about as well as tagging me so I can give em a bit of power and a resteem. If they're very good, I might even tag (for tag read annoy lol) a few whales to try and drop in with an upvote too. This I hope will give the begger some impetus to drop their metaphorical steemit begging cup and provide the community with some informative or entertaining original content as well as hopefully in a few months pay it forward! ( damn that film makes me cry, especially when he dies at the end, and there are all those people with candles...ok, I'm filling up here)

payitforward.jpg

(picture nicked off google, no idea on copyright, words added by me in MS paint)

I hope this works out because in all seriousness, what @reggaemuffin has done is make a leap of faith in a stranger, and it's that which makes this community such as special place, and I will pay it forward, but obviously not in a Kevin Spacey kind of way!

It would also be really nice if everyone who reads this could just simply read a newbies post and give them an encouraging upvote and comment. Should we really have to ask this? Everyone is new once and all the old whales ought to remember this and try and read and constructively comment on at least one minnow article a day. That would be a really nice thing to do.

Finally, if anyone else who reads this has other suggestions or even knows some minnows who might want to meet the challenge, then tag their names in a comment. Let's share the love people

Health and happiness to all, I've certainly got a spring in my step and a smile on my face tonight :-)

Sort:  

I'm very happy for you. @reggaemuffin is very encouraging. I once won 500 delegation for a month in a googlyeye comp. It was @reggaemuffin who delegated it to me. One day I hope to be able to do him/her a favour :)

This article surely help those people who actually write valuable content, great idea @nathen007 and also @reggaemuffin you rocks as always glad to have a member like you in this community :) keep spreading love :)

Perfect Star Wars reference 👌

Paying it forward is what will build steem. Some did it for me and at some point you will do it for others 😊

one-love!

Great news @nathen007! We all need encouragement from others!

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote!

We certainly do , and there are many generous people here :-)

Congratulations! I am grinding my way up to a nice slider as well. Maybe I should look into Delegations...

Good luck out there! I might have to borrow your Spammer Deterents. Ugh, I can only handle so many "Follow me!"'s

lol, I know what you mean but is funny because Ive tagged and commented so many people this week to encourage them and help and NO ONE has yet taken me up on my offer, i even threw 05sbd of my own into the deal.
I think spam is just something were going to have to put up with, when these people dont make anything, they just go away. Still annoying though !

I find your way to "fight" beggars fascinating! Make them write an essay... yet on something they really love and carress... Now that's compromise.
I'm over than a 100% sure most people agree that when someone's speaking about their passion, you can see the spark in their eyes along with the butterflies in their stomach, so it must be heartwarming to read all those entries!

Good morning Kristves :-)
Lol, Not many appear to be taking me up on my offer, but Im going to really go for it today, as well as trying to help minnows too and show some appreciation for their hard work, your blog is fantastic by the way. I was just reading about your love of punk.
As you say, when people talk about their passion, the words should just flow and if theres also a small reward and some appreciation shown by the community then it will hopefully encourage people to push onwards and upwards.
Thanks for taking time to read and comment with genuine interest and I look forward to reading more from you!

I'm a minnow who like a challenge

Ok mate, why not try posting an introduction, tell us all about yourself along with a photograph of yourself with the 'introduceyourself' tag ? Often gets a lot of exposure.
Also try reading this , it's a simple to understand and well written guide that Ive just started using:-
https://steemit.com/steemitguide/@maverickinvictus/90-days-in-steemit-and-all-the-things-that-i-learned-or-part-1
So post a great introduction and tag me please ! good luck

All the links are wonderful
You deserve to get 500 SP to educate
But WHO has the . . . . TIME to read it all let alone take it in? When you can read Private Eye and drink gin!

I have lots of time at the moment. That's not to say I cant enjoy a drink too but its Southern comfort that rings my bell ;-)

Wow! Congratulations, Nathen, that's so cool :) Use it wisely ;)

I will, but Im feeling under pressure lol....you need to give me some suggestions please cos youre an oldie, Im actually scared to upvote anyones posts at the moment cos I dont want to blow it. Just going to test 1% at a time and read up :-)

I'm an oldie now? :P
I would do the same thing, set the slider pretty low and see what that does and only slide up if I see a really good post.
Don't worry about it, you'll do fine ;)

In Steemit years, you're positively ancient lol ;-)

Ooh that hurt 😂
Not sure if I should take.that as a compliment :P

i like the kevin spacey pay it forward. reference still brings a tear to my eye when the boy dies in the end . now i feel like watching it .hope its on netflix

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55