A message to those who are only here to get rich

in #steemit6 years ago

Steemit-big.png

An hour or so ago I was reading a post from @bitcoinflood about steem’s loss of price and how that could effect Steemit contributors. It really got me thinking about the state of Steemit and about people’s motives when they post.


Now, I joined Steemit a couple of months ago to improve my writing skills. I haven’t earned much, and everything I do earn I put back into promoting my posts. If you check my posts you’ll see they earn about $0.3, but what you don’t see is that it came from an upvote bot where I just break even, and once that post pays out I’ll just repeat the process.

If I was here solely to earn money then I would be long gone. Don’t get me wrong, I would love to earn a couple of bucks per post – but that’s just not why I’m here and I don’t see it happening in the near future.


I can blame the problem that I’m never found on the fact that there’s a sea of other people who are all new and looking for attention.

“What’s the problem with that?” you might ask. Besides, I’m just like them also looking to establish a following.

The problem is that there are so many new people coming and going hoping to make easy money by posting poor quality posts that they drown out any good content unless it’s written by a somebody who already has a large following. I think I am far from the only person who sees this as an issue.


If you are somebody here who’s only goal is to make money off posting, then I’d advise that you look else ware. At some point you’re going to give up after months of posting and not earning anything; not to mention that people will probably be able to tell that you’re only posting because you want to make a buck.


Furthermore, I think that we need to somehow re-evaluate how earnings are distributed. On Steemit there seems to be a very strong consolidation of power, to the point where it’s nearly centralized. I really don’t know how we’d fix this (or if it even could be fixed), but I think that something needs to be done to ease this up a bit.

Now, I guess I’m going to conclude this message (or perhaps rant) with more questions then answers, but perhaps give this message some thought. Besides, who knows - you could be the person with the answers.



PS: Hey, you still reading? I’ve seen a lot of posts like this that do very well monetarily, so to prove (or at least attempt to prove) my legitimacy I’m going to decline the payouts. If you like what I said you can still give me a follow (I may follow this up), and I ask that you also resteem this post that way others can read what I’ve said.

Thank You

sig banner final.gif

Sort:  

You just planted 0.02 tree(s)!


Thanks to @nathan047

We have planted already 4137.34 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 20720.66
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

You got a 33.3333% upvote from @loyallobster courtesy of @cryptowatchdog

Upvoted you thanks for voting @aftabkhan123 follow me to get a guranteed free upvote just send a url link of your post to get upvoted thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59928.39
ETH 2649.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42