You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Drinking the Steemit Kool-Aid

in #steemit7 years ago

Yes, that is how things work. Money attracts money. And like you I'm not complaining either, because I do get it. But this notion that things can be/are different here isn't entirely true. The basic laws of value and human greed apply pretty much everywhere.

I also appreciated the value of my vote rising with the last hard fork. That was a small but nice change. Apart from that, we just need to keep speaking our truth, and enjoying our time, as best we can.

Sort:  

Yes, so true. I just can't comfortably promote Steemit as a place to make $ to new users as it feels misleading. But there are still other benefits they might enjoy from the site.

I think you said it best when mentioning the need to invest in Steem big time, and then you will reap rewards. Most people can't do that. But if they don't understand that dynamic then they get jaded if their dreams were to make the sort of figures you see on the trending page.

So yes, promote for the community, or blog or other key points. These are all good also. But those $$ on each post can be like a drug :)

So far I have only invested my time.

Yes, I've only invested my time so far as well but I'm seeing value beyond the dollar amounts. building a brand new network of folks i don't know on other channels and learning a lot. Also finding ways to use the content from other places here and then also the content I use here in other places. It's cyclical. I'm liking it decently so far in my first 3 weeks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64063.60
ETH 2742.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67