Steemit presents... weighted voting (for large SP holders)

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Good news people!

The Steemit user experience gets better and better!

You can now weight your voting on the Steemit front end. This was previously just the reserve of those that used the backend client.

I like this development. ALOT.

I'm not sure if it applies to all accounts (it seems to be limited to accounts that reach a certain SP level) however being able to weight votes in the Steemit frontend should mean

  • more votes on more posts (we can spread out our votes across more posts)
  • more tailored voting (i.e. users can quantify how much weight we want to assign a given post)
  • more control over your voting power (less fretting about how many times we've voted in a day)

No more is an upvote an all or nothing affair. I hope people embrace this development. Big thumbs up from me!!

UPDATE:

This post from @jesta has details of more changes in the latest update:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@jesta/now-you-can-see-who-you-re-following-and-who-is-following-you

Sort:  

I like it but I prefer we have a slider with max 5 weights... It is much easier to vote with 5 predefined weights instead of thinking about at which percentage (from 1-100) we eventually release the trigger!
Maybe it would be even better we have 2 modes, one advanced with the slider option and one normal that has no slider but a default voting power user-predefined...

I made in past a proposal about this...
https://steemit.com/steemit-ideas/@liondani/steemit-idea-voting-like-giving-feedback-on-ebay

two modes would be the perfect solution!

Great job...

That Github decision on the voting slider was really interesting... it begs the question why is it happening on Github and not on Steemit!!

@jesta Awesome job man! I do have a quick question though. How does this affect our vote weight when it comes to the 20 upvote/24hr cycle? I haven't had time to check out the source yet but I plan to later tonight.

I honestly am not sure. If you do find some information on it, I'd be interested to know. I'll update you if I find anymore information as well.

Again, a perfect example of how patch notes on this platform would really help us all out like we discussed.
Even new feature Dev's are getting lost in the shuffle.

Great and interesting. We are all beta testers :)

I don't see this option. I guess my SP is too low.

Another interesting addition -> clicking on SBD amount gives you popup with:

Potential Payout $0.52
12 hours from now

Yes, I am holding my upvote and waiting :)

I upvote a lot, whenever I come across a post I genuinely like. Should I be doing something else?

Nice! Don't wait too long, try to get in before @wang!

:) @wang was here. 13 minutes into your post. How do you attract him?

Not sure, I've been posting for a while and was getting really good rewards early doors. I guess he put his bot on me then and hasn't taken it off. It's flattering I guess.

Yes, it is. And rewarding. Good for you :)

I don't see it either. Maybe as you said you have to have xxSP?

Yes, this new feature should translate into more value for the steem community. Steemit is improving all the time. Thank you to the steemit developers.

Steem on,
Mike

I think maybe it should be simplified to 2 - 4 different buttons of varying vote weighting. (it's like giving star ratings). A slider wouldn't be reactive enough.. my 2 cents.

I'm finding I instinctively weight either 25, 50, 75 or 100. I guess others will opt differently. The more choice the better. The slider works well, so not too onerous.

nanzo-scoop
This will not reduce in most cases the amount you can get is the author? voice had a constant weight. now it will be reduced.
is not it?

I shouldn't think so. I know in my case it will mean I'm more liberal with my voting and will vote on more stuff (just weight it appropriately). Material that I like more will still get 100%.

OK. Thank you

I'm curious to see what the actual cutoff is.

Hoehaa . Finaly my wish came true . Auwsome .

At what point does it become like tipping instead of voting?

  • no other social platform has this vote distribution.
  • no other platform would think to implement it.
  • the updates here, on Steemit are now even more than Microsoft does. Wow, I didn't expect to be possible. :)))

It's amazing to see the owners take so good care of the users. Maybe I'm dreaming. I'll reread tomorrow again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82