You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🏆 [CONTEST] What Did You Learn About SteemIt This Week? (+ Steem-Bounty)

in #steemit6 years ago

These days I learned about the use and abuse of steem flags. One of the people I follow, made a post
on the use of flags and a kind of debate was opened on this subject. I must admit that until now I was ignorant of this matter and even a little naive. I knew that flags were placed on plagiarized posts or spam comments. From that discussion I learned that many times this mechanism is used as a weapon of revenge, not because the material is bad or is a plagiarism, but because there is something against who writes the post. In the same way, I knew that some people with a lot of power and reputation can use this resource to crush other minors.
I think it's important to know about this issue because you don't know when you can be a victim of this outrage, or on the contrary, realize that by a bad action within the Steemit community you can earn a flag.
In my case, I think that sometimes we misunderstand the remedy of punishment. Sometimes punishing someone and making the punishment public can be a lesson to you and others. But it can also be a psychological outrage against the other person. There are levels of misdemeanor that deserve levels of punishment. I think there are a lot of people out there, because they have power (there are even presidents) over the others without any consideration. And this is also seen in Steem. Greetings and thanks.

Sort:  

Sadly, human nature seems to have an inbuilt bullying function. Because "flagging" you and taking away your rewards is the only mechanism available to punish you for daring to raise an alternate opinion, to keep you in line so to speak.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55