You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Detailed Opinion on Appropriate Use of Upvote Bots, Bot Abuse, and Quality Content!

in #steemit6 years ago

This was a very interesting post for me to read today. In the middle of an existentialist crisis about Steemit, that involves bidbots and overestimated posts sucking dry the reward pool, I needed to see this.

I try to decrease the time I spend witing a post, but there is nothing I can do if I want to reach the quaity I am aiming for. Basically, it is minimum 6 to 12 hours work:
Researching the topic when needed, writing a draft, structuring, re-writing, taking the pics, making videos when relevant, searching for illustrations or making them myself, keeping track of all references and including them etc...

It's a lot of work, and getting a few dollars or a few tens of dollars wen I see posts that make hundreds or even thousands while it would have taken me 1 hour tops to write it, just makes me mad!

I am still hanging there, and will for a while more, but... Things need to improve in regards to abusers of the reward pool...

Thank you for your post, it revigorates me. Be well.

Sort:  

Glad to have your thoughts on this important matter. It's great that you feel better. I hope you continue because sunshine is not far away. I know how people exceed others regardless the amount of effort involved.

I am a turtle at writing. This post took me more than four hours to publish after I wrote its title. This is when I had all the idea inside my head and there was little visual imagery to add. I have written posts which took me more than 15 hours to create but they paid out well over $300 as well. I can assure you that your efforts will not be ignored for long.

You may need to change your marketing methods. Look for ways to reach out more people. See how others are doing it and use the methods which seem acceptable to you.

Steemit is still a young startup. A lot needs to change and we know that a lot is going to happen in future. We are lucky to be part of it this early.

Thank you Ilyas for your encouraging comments and for the personal advice. I appreciate grandly.

I must admit, that Marketing... well, I'd rather spend more time creating content. I guess many of us, especially in the arts and sciences feel like this... Don't get me wrong, I know how to , as I had to to promote some other works and managed to find my place with these online, yet it is not my cup of tea.

I believe, the most important is to build a solid and meaningful follower base, the ideal being when they genuinely look forward to your next post, and are curious on what you will come up with next. I am happy to see mine grow day after day. In addition, I do make it a priority of taking deep care of my followers, especially those that interact with me. That, I believe, will guarantee a minimal payout when I post a good quality article.

Maybe, you didn't really understand the source of my irritation: It is when you see posts earning 300$+, which really are not worth this sum in terms of work put in, but are being up-voted by 'friends' of the poster or bots.... In absolute, I have no problem in someone making money the way they want. Good for them. What bothers me is that they take out the money from the same pool as those that work their ass off to propose some really high quality content, that in the end, barely reaches a few dollars... For me, this is not far off from community theft.

Yet, beside my rant on this issue, I am really glad, like you, to be involved in Steemit: I love this platform and these are very exciting times to be part of it. And indeed, changes will occur. I just hope that these will be in favor of users (authors and readers), not those greedy people that hijack the reward pool... My witness votes are strongly based on this...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59